Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Incredible!!! I've been wanting to make this using the Panko crumbs which I've never used! I finally bought Panko crumbs on line and I will NEVER NEVER EVER go back to using regular breadcrumbs!!!! I've been expermenting with these crumbs now whenever breadcrumbs are called for and these Panko crumbs ROCK!!!! Thanks submitter! Update: Since discovering Panko crumbs I found a recipe for chicken on this site called Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce - It is also a 5 star+ recipe and the Tonkatsu sauce is also great with these pork chops. I've actually had these in a Japanese restaurant with the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Mmmmmmmm! What a great recipe! Btw, I used garlic powder instead of garlic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I used tenderloin pork and I pounded the pork into a thinner cutlet and then did the coating. They were excellent. I plan on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.M.Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This recipe was enjoyed by the entire family. Served with a tangy tonkatsu sauce & rice, there were no leftovers. Looking fwd to making them again, but i'll get more panko next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
The panko makes it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
This recipe was great... my family loved it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbrough (frog)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
A wonderful, easy recipe, yet special. I love another use for Panko crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
The breading fried up very nicely. I ended up using almost three times more of the egg mixture than was called for and about double the panko. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
all my picky kids loved, panko are my new favorite coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States