Tonkatsu - Asian-style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The first time I made these chops they were okay, but with a couple of tweaks, these pork chops are terrific! The second time I prepared them, I seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I also cooked the chops at a lower temperature (medium high) to prevent burning. Finally, I served them with a sweet and slightly spicy sauce found here on allrecipes (1/2 cup orange marmalade, 1/4 cup Dijon mustard, 1/4 cup honey, and 1/4 teaspoon hot sauce). If you're using a thick cut pork chop, I suggest pounding it to make it thinner or placing the thick pork chops in the oven to finish cooking after browning. All in all, this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My family's been making pork katsu as long as I can remember, so here's a tip since the recipe doesn't mention it: pound the meat! It makes all the difference in texture and tenderness. Serving tonkatsu sauce is a must as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFDOG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Incredible!!! I've been wanting to make this using the Panko crumbs which I've never used! I finally bought Panko crumbs on line and I will NEVER NEVER EVER go back to using regular breadcrumbs!!!! I've been expermenting with these crumbs now whenever breadcrumbs are called for and these Panko crumbs ROCK!!!! Thanks submitter! Update: Since discovering Panko crumbs I found a recipe for chicken on this site called Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce - It is also a 5 star+ recipe and the Tonkatsu sauce is also great with these pork chops. I've actually had these in a Japanese restaurant with the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I've been looking for a good katsu recipe, and came across this one last year which I have now made close to a dozen times. This is so good, that I haven't had to modify it too much. Suggestions to try though: Add a splash of sesame oil to your deep frying oil for a blast of asian flavor. Make sure the meat is thin, less then a 1/4" thick is good. If thick meat, lower the temp of the oil to prevent the breading from scorching before the meat is cooked thru. Season your meat before coating and breading. Use powdered garlic and ginger instead of fresh minced since they are easier to incorporate into the egg or into the panko. Use fresh crushed Tien Tsin Chili pepper (little red asian pepper) added to panko for added heat (caution: a little adds a lot of heat). Tonkatsu sauce (or any sauce) is critical for this...I use store bought Bull-Dog Vegetable & Fruit Tonkatsu Sauce (can order online if not at your local asian market) instead of making my own which I can't get to taste as good as this.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Very tasty recipe...marinating and tenderizing (pounding) before making it helps. Also, the CUT of meat you use is KEY. If it is dry, you prob used cheap meat. In Japan we have HIRE (white meat) and ROSU (dark meat) - even good quality white meat will be super juicy. Of course this dish does not stand alone - you NEED sauce! The Japanese do not eat this without sauce...it would be the unthinkable. Please try authentic Tonkatsu sauce, or...if in a pinch, some A1 steak sauce. Don't try it w/out some dressing, otherwise it is pointless to make it. :( Served with thinly sliced lettuce salad, mini tomatoes for presentation...great. Lettuce reduces...er compliments the greasiness of the fried meat. Also, if you have non-meat lovers, the same technique can be used for SHRIMP. Very tasty...but be sure to cut the tail to prevent juices from flying, and make incisions along the body to make the shrimp stand straight after frying. Fat-concerned folks: please fry panko in oil...then do like 'shake and bake' - then...bake...similar results...not AS tasty but definitely easier on the waist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This was fantastic...just like at a Japanese restaurant, it was crunchy and tender!! Yum! Now, if I could only make nigiri! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This recipe was enjoyed by the entire family. Served with a tangy tonkatsu sauce & rice, there were no leftovers. Looking fwd to making them again, but i'll get more panko next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This tastes great! As many reviewers mentioned, it is important to lightly coat the chops in four, egg then the panko so the coating will stick. Do let the coated chops sit for the optional time before frying as it really helps the coating stick! I didn't pound out my chops (forgot) but as they were only slightly thicker than 1/4 inch (maybe about 1/2 inch) I just cooked them at a lower temperature for a little longer. I seasoned the flour with seasoned salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also added a little hot sauce (splash or two) to the egg mixture and left the panko plain. Serve this with 'Tonkatsu/Katsu' sauce from this site, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Yum! I just made this for dinner and paired it with katsu sauce recipe that I found on this website too. My family loved it so much. In the process of cooking I added flour with seasoned salt, pepper and garlic powder. Egg mixture was not enough for the 8 chops so I doubled it as well as the panko crumbs with red pepper flakes. After dipping the chops I let them rest in the freezer for an hour or two. Then I fried it in hot vegetable oil with a splash of sesame oil. Have my fire set on low then fry each side for about 5 minutes until golden brown. The only thing that I regret about is I forgot to season the chops with garlic powder and ground ginger, I'll do that again next time though. Thank you Shin98 =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just_G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is a good recipe. The garlic makes it a little more interesting than plain panko breading, but you're still going to need sauce. If you like bold, spicy katsu like I do, I suggest the Tonkatsu/Katsu Sauce by SOIFUA on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States