Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Came out quite good - however, I had to make the egg wash 3 times - that second dip really sucks up a LOT of the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Wonderful! They were a little bland, however one would kind of think that in looking at the recipe beforehand. I chose to saute the garlic in the oil before adding the chops - which were breaded with seasoned Panko crumbs (garlic powder, pepper, salt and onion powder). First time I have worked with Panko and would def use again - sooooo much better than breadcrumbs. Chops came out juicy and delicious - and for that I say THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
My husband went wild over these! He loved this dish. I made my own tonkatsu sauce to serve on the side. I had to double the egg wash to do all 8 pork chops. The coating was so crispy and light. Very very good. I am not into pork so I'd prefer chicken but I can appreciate a quality recipe when I find it. Thanks Shin98 for sharing this delicious dish with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
all my picky kids loved, panko are my new favorite coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Upon eating this the 2 and 3 time they didn't like it as much. My family just loved this. I doubled the milk/eggs mixture and then had plenty to double dip. Also we just needed 1 thin pork chop apiece, with the coating its plenty filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
The breading fried up very nicely. I ended up using almost three times more of the egg mixture than was called for and about double the panko. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My husband raved about these pork chops. The panko bread fries up very crisp. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This recipe was enjoyed by the entire family. Served with a tangy tonkatsu sauce & rice, there were no leftovers. Looking fwd to making them again, but i'll get more panko next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
this was my first recipe with Panko, will experiment some more with them. pork chops were good, but i needed to double the egg & crumbs to double dip 6 thin chops. i used white pepper & ginger powder in the egg. will certainly add more seasoning next time,since it needed more flavor. i served with fried rice & broccoli with asian sesame sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Just okay for us. Tasted like a regular pork chop. An oriental sauce of some type might help. Would probably not make again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States