Tonkatsu - Asian-style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Yummyyyy!! This is not that healthy, because it's being deep friend, and let's face it... that's not so good. But it's so yummy it's worth it! Just maybe not everyday. I once read that onion tends to cut down oil, so when you're eating something oily you should eat it with onion, so i sautee some onions with soy sauce or some other sauce and we eat that with this too... Or i try to add onion to a salad we're eating and then hubby and i try not to talk directly to each other for the rest of the night. Hehe. Looove love! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Yum! This was a hit. It was easy to make. Instead of minced garlic, I used garlic powder. Also, as others have stated, you need more eggs. The panko made it so crispy and delicious. I will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made the recipe as it stated except I used olive oil. I thought it was very easy to make, the crunch was great, the taste ok - bland for me, but better once dipped in a spiced peanut sauce (the stores did not have the sauce mentioned). I think it would probably be best if more spice were added to the cutlet before dredging. I read that authentic variations on tonkatsu include sandwiching an ingredient like cheese or shiso leaf between the meat, and then breading and frying; In Waseda, Tokyo, a restaurant serves a tonkatsu with a bar of chocolate sandwiched inside. Authentic recipes also call for all purpose flour dredging before dredging in the egg and panko. That makes sense to me because the panko is thick and dipping it twice (as the recipe here calls for) makes it too thick really - especially if you let it sit for a few minutes as the recipe calls for and if too thick, it will fall off the chop after cooked. If you are new to cooking, I would start out with your thickest chop and cut it open before removing from heat to make sure it is done because cook time will vary - pork and eggs are not things you want undercooked. I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Even though the egg mixture is already seasoned with salt and pepper, I also seasoned the chicken separately with garlic salt/pepper prior to dipping. Like others have said - pound the meat!! The egg mixture wasn't enough for my 4 chicken breasts, so I had to double the mixture. Ate it with the Kikkoman brand Tonkatsu sauce that you can find at most markets. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
LOVE IT!! We make this all the time. Everytime we go to a Japanese restaurant one or both of us would always order tonkatsu and pay at least 12 bucks or more for it. This taste just like the ones we had at the restaurants and cost hardly anything! We use Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce recipe for the tonkatsu sauce. This is one of my husbands most requested dinners now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Oh YUM! To be honest- this is my first experience frying something for real- in a frying pan. It was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. The secret may be in the thinness of the pork chops. Also- we put some tonkatsu sauce on them once served. But some we just put a little lemon juice on- both were delicious! Served over a bed of rice with a side of fresh steamed broccoli. I will make this recipe OFTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I thought these tasted great!! But, the egg mixture and the panko crumbs were only enough for 4 of my pork chops. Maybe I did something wrong, but it came out fine and that's all that matters! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Pretty close to the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I've been looking for a good katsu recipe, and came across this one last year which I have now made close to a dozen times. This is so good, that I haven't had to modify it too much. Suggestions to try though: Add a splash of sesame oil to your deep frying oil for a blast of asian flavor. Make sure the meat is thin, less then a 1/4" thick is good. If thick meat, lower the temp of the oil to prevent the breading from scorching before the meat is cooked thru. Season your meat before coating and breading. Use powdered garlic and ginger instead of fresh minced since they are easier to incorporate into the egg or into the panko. Use fresh crushed Tien Tsin Chili pepper (little red asian pepper) added to panko for added heat (caution: a little adds a lot of heat). Tonkatsu sauce (or any sauce) is critical for this...I use store bought Bull-Dog Vegetable & Fruit Tonkatsu Sauce (can order online if not at your local asian market) instead of making my own which I can't get to taste as good as this.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is a good recipe. The garlic makes it a little more interesting than plain panko breading, but you're still going to need sauce. If you like bold, spicy katsu like I do, I suggest the Tonkatsu/Katsu Sauce by SOIFUA on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States