Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Absolutely PHENOMENAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita McNeely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe...my only critique would be to start the oil at a lower temp. I didn't pound out the pork chops so to get them cooked all the way through, the crust was almost burnt. The crust however was wonderfully crisp, it gave the meat a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Delicious! My kids loved it. I, too, made it with the Tonkatsu/Katsu Sauce from this site. This will be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Crunchy goodness. I made a sauce for the chops using soy sauce, woosie sauce, and ketchup. Served over white rice with scallions. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I love this recipe, I would make it twice a month. What helps me a lot too with the preparing is using about 2lbs of the pork scaloppini this is already supper thin and the frying time is fast. My family love them both ways with or without the tonkatsu sauce. We eat it along with hot white rice, finadenni sauce and kimichee. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BzMoM3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This tastes great! As many reviewers mentioned, it is important to lightly coat the chops in four, egg then the panko so the coating will stick. Do let the coated chops sit for the optional time before frying as it really helps the coating stick! I didn't pound out my chops (forgot) but as they were only slightly thicker than 1/4 inch (maybe about 1/2 inch) I just cooked them at a lower temperature for a little longer. I seasoned the flour with seasoned salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also added a little hot sauce (splash or two) to the egg mixture and left the panko plain. Serve this with 'Tonkatsu/Katsu' sauce from this site, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I've had this at restaurants so many times and i never thought to make it myself but when i came across this recipe i had to try it. It was AWESOME! and my hubby liked it a lot. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great pork chops. I did the double dip and let them set about 10 minutes before pan frying. I used canola oil to fry them. I used garlic powder in place of fresh minced garlic. Dipped them in Dynamite Sauce from this site. Great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Depending on the type of pork chop, I suggest tenderizing the pork chops. Also, on my first attempt, the bread crumbs were too thin so I made sure to evenly coat the panko crumbs. Lastly, adjust the amount of vegetable oil basked on thickness of pork chop so that you get a better coating of panko without burning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Try this with thinly sliced green cabbage and white rice!! Mmm Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEVOFRESH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States