Tonkatsu - Asian-style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This tastes great! As many reviewers mentioned, it is important to lightly coat the chops in four, egg then the panko so the coating will stick. Do let the coated chops sit for the optional time before frying as it really helps the coating stick! I didn't pound out my chops (forgot) but as they were only slightly thicker than 1/4 inch (maybe about 1/2 inch) I just cooked them at a lower temperature for a little longer. I seasoned the flour with seasoned salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also added a little hot sauce (splash or two) to the egg mixture and left the panko plain. Serve this with 'Tonkatsu/Katsu' sauce from this site, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I've had this at restaurants so many times and i never thought to make it myself but when i came across this recipe i had to try it. It was AWESOME! and my hubby liked it a lot. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great pork chops. I did the double dip and let them set about 10 minutes before pan frying. I used canola oil to fry them. I used garlic powder in place of fresh minced garlic. Dipped them in Dynamite Sauce from this site. Great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Depending on the type of pork chop, I suggest tenderizing the pork chops. Also, on my first attempt, the bread crumbs were too thin so I made sure to evenly coat the panko crumbs. Lastly, adjust the amount of vegetable oil basked on thickness of pork chop so that you get a better coating of panko without burning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Try this with thinly sliced green cabbage and white rice!! Mmm Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEVOFRESH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Solid simple tonkatsu recipe. I probably would have added a little more salt (could just have been the sea salt I was using was a bit on the light side).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I'm trying this right NOW! I have 3 chops that I've de-boned and cut down into 9 equal size pieces. Then starting with the smallest pieces, lightly pound flat. Working up with the larger pieces, pound to same thickness as the smaller one. Marinade with soy sauce, hoisin sauce and a little Chinese 5 spice for half an hour. Then follow along with the rest of the directions. Will be served with lemon basmati rice, buttered carrot coins and leftover turkey dressing. I will tell you later how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We enjoyed this recipe by borrowing others' suggestions for seasoning, but it would have been bland as written. Also, I needed considerably more breadcrumbs & egg mixture to coat my pork chops; also had to lower the temperature to avoid burning. So, while I think the recipe could use some work, I'm really happy with the idea and we did enjoy the meal. Probably won't make this often due to the calorie count, but it was a fun change from our usual. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Overall I thought this recipe was ok. I think I should have used a thinner slice of pork. I had a difficult time getting it cooked thoroughly. However, the texture was great :D. Classic panko crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is a good recipe....I just want to share a great sauce which went great with it: Japanese brand Bulldog sauce with mayo-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States