Tonkatsu - Asian-style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Very simple...some panko fell off during the second egg dip. Must do both dips in panko only one is not enough. We served with asian noodles which were not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was a nice recipe, had a really good crunch due to the panko crumbs. Needs a little bit more seasoning, other than that it is great!! Thanks for sharing your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAHM4
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I am now in love with Panko bread crumbs!!! I really didn't think they would make much of a difference, even after reading the other reviews, but, WOW!! They are so light, airy, and crunchy - so much better than regular bread crumbs! This recipe over all was good, but I do think that it is missing a little bit of something. I served the pork chops with sweet and sour sauce, which complimented them nicely, but it would have been nice to have a little more flavor in the actual pork chops so the sauce wouldn't be necessary. My husband said to definitely keep this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
These were very good, I agree with others that you need to add a little more seasoning either to the crumbs or the eggs. I first dipped the chops in the crumbs and then eggs and back in crumbs. This made them perfect with a light coating, the family really enjoyed them...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Wonderful and so fast!!! I had never used Japanese bread crumbs before, (they can be hard to find!) but they will be a staple item at my house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I love these and they weren't hard to make. I served them with Tonkatsu sauce, I think that it is a must for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was ok, but definitely use THIN cut pork chops, otherwise your panko will burn before your chops are cooked. Also, could use some extra seasoning either on the chops before dipping, or in the panko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Came out quite good - however, I had to make the egg wash 3 times - that second dip really sucks up a LOT of the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Wonderful! They were a little bland, however one would kind of think that in looking at the recipe beforehand. I chose to saute the garlic in the oil before adding the chops - which were breaded with seasoned Panko crumbs (garlic powder, pepper, salt and onion powder). First time I have worked with Panko and would def use again - sooooo much better than breadcrumbs. Chops came out juicy and delicious - and for that I say THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
My husband went wild over these! He loved this dish. I made my own tonkatsu sauce to serve on the side. I had to double the egg wash to do all 8 pork chops. The coating was so crispy and light. Very very good. I am not into pork so I'd prefer chicken but I can appreciate a quality recipe when I find it. Thanks Shin98 for sharing this delicious dish with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States