Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! A nice change from your typical "shake and bake" style pork. We served it with teryaki dipping sauce and steamed cauliflower, snap peas, and carrots. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Very tasty recipe...marinating and tenderizing (pounding) before making it helps. Also, the CUT of meat you use is KEY. If it is dry, you prob used cheap meat. In Japan we have HIRE (white meat) and ROSU (dark meat) - even good quality white meat will be super juicy. Of course this dish does not stand alone - you NEED sauce! The Japanese do not eat this without sauce...it would be the unthinkable. Please try authentic Tonkatsu sauce, or...if in a pinch, some A1 steak sauce. Don't try it w/out some dressing, otherwise it is pointless to make it. :( Served with thinly sliced lettuce salad, mini tomatoes for presentation...great. Lettuce reduces...er compliments the greasiness of the fried meat. Also, if you have non-meat lovers, the same technique can be used for SHRIMP. Very tasty...but be sure to cut the tail to prevent juices from flying, and make incisions along the body to make the shrimp stand straight after frying. Fat-concerned folks: please fry panko in oil...then do like 'shake and bake' - then...bake...similar results...not AS tasty but definitely easier on the waist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Good! These chops were crispy and crunchy and moist. Cut into strips and served with sweet and sour for my kids and they ate them up! I agree that the batter needs some spicing up but a great starting place and a good kid friendly mid week meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Very simple...some panko fell off during the second egg dip. Must do both dips in panko only one is not enough. We served with asian noodles which were not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This was a nice recipe, had a really good crunch due to the panko crumbs. Needs a little bit more seasoning, other than that it is great!! Thanks for sharing your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAHM4
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I am now in love with Panko bread crumbs!!! I really didn't think they would make much of a difference, even after reading the other reviews, but, WOW!! They are so light, airy, and crunchy - so much better than regular bread crumbs! This recipe over all was good, but I do think that it is missing a little bit of something. I served the pork chops with sweet and sour sauce, which complimented them nicely, but it would have been nice to have a little more flavor in the actual pork chops so the sauce wouldn't be necessary. My husband said to definitely keep this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
These were very good, I agree with others that you need to add a little more seasoning either to the crumbs or the eggs. I first dipped the chops in the crumbs and then eggs and back in crumbs. This made them perfect with a light coating, the family really enjoyed them...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Wonderful and so fast!!! I had never used Japanese bread crumbs before, (they can be hard to find!) but they will be a staple item at my house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I love these and they weren't hard to make. I served them with Tonkatsu sauce, I think that it is a must for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was ok, but definitely use THIN cut pork chops, otherwise your panko will burn before your chops are cooked. Also, could use some extra seasoning either on the chops before dipping, or in the panko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States