Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is a good recipe. The garlic makes it a little more interesting than plain panko breading, but you're still going to need sauce. If you like bold, spicy katsu like I do, I suggest the Tonkatsu/Katsu Sauce by SOIFUA on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were very good. The breading was absolutely perfect and they were nice and crispy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was excellent. I made the recipe as stated and it turned out deliciously! I dipped pieces of pork chop into Mae Ploy Sweet Chilli Sauce and was in heaven. This is seriously good food. It's fairly simple and straight-forward, too. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very good, here is the recipe for the sauce that I used: 1/2 c ketchup 1/4 c worcestershire sauce 1 Tbsp grated ginger 1 Tbsp garlic powder 4 Tbsp mirin 2 Tbsp soy sauce pinch of chili powder I didn't add any sugar, but maybe that's what it was missing... hope this helps =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I added an extra 1/2 tsp garlic to the egg mixture and used cayenne pepper instead of black. I first dipped the chops in plain flour, then the egg mixture and just one dip into the panko crumbs. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
mmmm so crunchy ... but i'll add some seasoning salt next time for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I don't know why I just didn't like this dish. It was simple and easy and deliciously crunchy and panko always cooks up beautifully but it needed more spice. If I make this again, I will add alot more garlic and extra spices to give the breading and meat more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These chops were juicy, crunchy and easy to make. I thought they had good flavor on their own - there's plenty of tasty stuff in the egg wash. I let them sit for 10 minutes as the author recommended - maybe that made the difference. And I took other reviewers' advice to make a tonkatsu sauce (kind of funny one wasn't included when you look at the name) for dipping. Found one on another site. Thanks for another staple pork chop recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. Like a lot of the other reviews stated, the sauce makes the dish. I enjoyed the crunchiness of the pork chops. It reminded me of a Japanese restaurant I went to a few years back. I have been searching for that flavor for a while and I am glad that I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickyEater1080

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
It was good but adding garlic makes the mix really hard to stick to the meat, so I had to add 2 more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States