Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Pretty close to the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I've been looking for a good katsu recipe, and came across this one last year which I have now made close to a dozen times. This is so good, that I haven't had to modify it too much. Suggestions to try though: Add a splash of sesame oil to your deep frying oil for a blast of asian flavor. Make sure the meat is thin, less then a 1/4" thick is good. If thick meat, lower the temp of the oil to prevent the breading from scorching before the meat is cooked thru. Season your meat before coating and breading. Use powdered garlic and ginger instead of fresh minced since they are easier to incorporate into the egg or into the panko. Use fresh crushed Tien Tsin Chili pepper (little red asian pepper) added to panko for added heat (caution: a little adds a lot of heat). Tonkatsu sauce (or any sauce) is critical for this...I use store bought Bull-Dog Vegetable & Fruit Tonkatsu Sauce (can order online if not at your local asian market) instead of making my own which I can't get to taste as good as this.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is a good recipe. The garlic makes it a little more interesting than plain panko breading, but you're still going to need sauce. If you like bold, spicy katsu like I do, I suggest the Tonkatsu/Katsu Sauce by SOIFUA on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were very good. The breading was absolutely perfect and they were nice and crispy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was excellent. I made the recipe as stated and it turned out deliciously! I dipped pieces of pork chop into Mae Ploy Sweet Chilli Sauce and was in heaven. This is seriously good food. It's fairly simple and straight-forward, too. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very good, here is the recipe for the sauce that I used: 1/2 c ketchup 1/4 c worcestershire sauce 1 Tbsp grated ginger 1 Tbsp garlic powder 4 Tbsp mirin 2 Tbsp soy sauce pinch of chili powder I didn't add any sugar, but maybe that's what it was missing... hope this helps =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I added an extra 1/2 tsp garlic to the egg mixture and used cayenne pepper instead of black. I first dipped the chops in plain flour, then the egg mixture and just one dip into the panko crumbs. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
mmmm so crunchy ... but i'll add some seasoning salt next time for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I don't know why I just didn't like this dish. It was simple and easy and deliciously crunchy and panko always cooks up beautifully but it needed more spice. If I make this again, I will add alot more garlic and extra spices to give the breading and meat more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These chops were juicy, crunchy and easy to make. I thought they had good flavor on their own - there's plenty of tasty stuff in the egg wash. I let them sit for 10 minutes as the author recommended - maybe that made the difference. And I took other reviewers' advice to make a tonkatsu sauce (kind of funny one wasn't included when you look at the name) for dipping. Found one on another site. Thanks for another staple pork chop recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States