Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This was amazing! My husband and I really loved this recipe. Definitely a keeper. I added 1/4 tsp of garlic powder and 1/4 tsp salt, and pounded the pork to tenderize it. It turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
just saying u might wwant to cut off fat on edges if there is or it will not work if u dont.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluedragon0628

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Tasted good, but frying can be a little finicky. Hoisin sauce was the savior for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
It is really delicious! I cooked in food class and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just made them tonight. The few changes I made were I used duck eggs (I know...kinda random) which added to the richness of the coating. I also allowed the meat to rest in the egg/milk bath for about 30 minutes with some additional garlic added. After the resting period I quickly breaded and sear fried in oil which I had added additional garlic and shallots. The chops came out super moist and tender with a savory crisp coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Dasovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnneliseHndz
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I tried making this tonight for the first time, and if I do say so myself, it turned out great! Dad, boyfriend and and I ate all of it (along with the rice to go along with it). Defenitely going to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
A few tweaks and this recipe is awesome. First add a tsp of oil for each egg in your egg wash, this will prevent crust from separating from the meat. Second spritz the panko crumbs with water 5 minutes before use, this will result in a lighter and crispier crust. Third the oil should be at 350, if you don't have a thermometer drop a piece of panko in the oil if it immediately rises to the top it's around 350. Lastly add a layer of flour before your eggwash. Also tenderize and season your meat before breading
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Tasted good, but I could not achieve the golden brown texture that the image shows, though, the problem could be my cookware. I also would recommend cooking less than 5-minutes on each side and flip to check the color regularly. As others have mentioned, a sauce enhances this dish. I served with Sriracha and a sweet vinegar cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I love it. Very simple, I did add a bit more Garlic than called for, and of course, took my aggression out on my chops with my meat tenderizer and then viola! Fried em over medium high heat and served them with traditional Katsu sauce, Jasmine rice, and steamed Broccoli :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattooedhousewife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States