Tom's Blackened Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was delicious seasoning..I tried on red fish first and it was not a good type of fish. I then tried chicken..absolutely delicious...and the shrimp was to die for. Tonights catfish was just as delicious too. I used the recipe as is other than cayenne which was reduced to half...and it was perfect. (Not so hot you lose taste but spicy...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I have never had anything blackened, but my husband and son love blackened fish, so i gave it a try. The only change I made was to reduce the salt to 1 tsp. I have to say this will now be served on a regular basis at my house! It is a great seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Faust

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I did adjust the salt just a bit because we're watching our sodium intake. This was just what I needed, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We use this on so many things....I am constantly referring to the recipe to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
It's the perfect blackening mixture!! Had it on Salmon. I also reduced the sugar to about a tsp and found that to be just right. Have shared the recipe with 3 other people already
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Romano Parsons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We used halibut with this recipe and cooked it on a really hot cast iron griddle. The result was fantastic. I had cut the fist into strips and we put them into fish tacos when it was all done. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Oh my goodness, thes was AMAZING. Tried it tonight with some chicken tenders - sauted in skillet with small amount of olive oil. Also cooked some white fish (Swai) using the seasoning. WONDERFUL!!! Tasted like something from a really nice restaraunt. Highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I had never "blackened" anything before and was skeptical at the beginning because it smells strange when it starts to cook, but the end result was delicious. I can't wait to experiment with this seasoning again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaSunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
yummy! i made a double batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is great! Reminds me of a seasoning we used in the south. I'd like it to have just a bit more bite to it but it is perfect if you're serving those who prefer less bite as well as those who prefer more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States