Tom's Blackened Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
We enjoyed this for our blackened halibut...without the sugar and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Can you say awesome? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My husband loves Blackened chicken and he liked this seasoning blend. My complaint is the ""blackening process is a pain and smokes up the kitchen so make on a cool day or outside on the grill so you can have plenty of air circulation. It's only a special occasion dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is far better than any seasoning I've purchased for blackening. Great on fish, chicken, and shrimp. I've even used it on roasted veggies. Excellent flavor without too much heat. Keeps well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Love this recipe. I used it once, and didn't save it. The second time I wanted it, I made sure to bookmark it. I love the authentic spices in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Yummy! Made it with Mahi Mahi for fish tacos! Great recipe ( didnt change a thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I was a little skeptical when I started this but I mixed it as per recipes, except I have cut the cayenne in half as we are not very spicy people lol, it was awesome!!! The chicken had the most amazing color, and the flavor 5 stars!!! I used this to make blackened chicken alfredo pizza delicious!! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I love to make up a big batch - I love to mix it with flour (about half and half), coat tilapia sprinkled with lime juice and salt and pepper, and pan fry it. Top with lime zest and a lime and chiplole "crema". Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
never had anything blackened before so i can't compare, but it was a very tasty blend. we used it on alligator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I do not know enough to know what is "authentic" in a Blackening Mix and what is not but I do know I liked the taste of this blend. I wanted to blacken tilapia and decided to use this recipe and was happy I did. I only used 1 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar just because I wasn't sure about using a full tablespoon. I wanted to use the sugar because the submitter noted it carmalized and this was appealing to me. I'm looking forward now to using this often. Thanks Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States