Tommy's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made the mistake of not reading the comments before trying this recipe (pressed for time) and I'm sorry I didn't make the time. While this is a great way to use left-over ham, it didn't make enough sauce and we prefer more cheese in our casseroles. It was rather bland. I do think it's worth another try with some of the great suggestions from the previous reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was good. My kids loved it which is always good. As others said, I should have used low sodium soup. Instead of bread crumbs, I used ritz crackers because thats what I had-which probably added to the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I added more sharp cheddar cheese along with this recipe. I topped with plain bread crumbs and parmesan cheese. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Judy, Great dish! So quick and easy, and everyone loved it, especially my little boy! It contained his favorites...ham, pasta and cheese! He and my husband had 2 helpings. I didn't have enough shredded cheese,(we like it cheesy,chessy, so I added some Velveta and it worked out well. Will be making this again!! Thanks Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Great recipe, I added some seasoned salt to the bread crumbs and a little cheese, other than that I was great, wife and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Airville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This recipe was very good...however, I added a few "extras" to ensure that the casserole would be a success. I added a 1/2 tsp. of garlic salt, a 1/2 tsp. of pepper, used about 1/2 cup of low-fat sour cream, 3 tbsp. of low-fat mayo, and 1/2 cup of swiss cheese. The end result was magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great recipe for leftover ham, this is a wonderful "comfort food" dish! This is a very easy meal to make. I made sure to follow some of the alterations mentioned here in the reviews...increasing the cheese to 2 cups and the milk to 1 can. I also added about 1 tbsp. each of seasoned salt and onion powder, and a little bit of pepper as well. The onion powder and seasoned salt really gave it the flavor it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This was great and easy! It also used up our left over ham :) It was a little rich, but the flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I used suggestions from many different people to make this a tasty recipe. I cooked celery, onion, and fresh mushrooms in some marg. and added it to the pasta. I also stirred some seasoned pepper, thyme, garlic, parsley, oregano, and seasoned salt into the veg. while they were cooking. I used a full can of milk and added some lt. sour cream to the soup mixture. For the chz., I used about a cup of mild cheddar and a cup of sharp cheddar (both reduced fat). For the topping, I mixed seasoned breadcrumbs with saltine crackers and about two tablespoons of marg. I also sprinkled a little sharp cheese under the topping. This filled a 9x13 pan. My husband loved this and went back for seconds. I definately recommend making changes to the original recipe to jazz it up, otherwise this would be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was a pretty good recipe! I personally don't care for ham mixed with cream of mushroom soup. I don't think they blend very well in flavor. However hubby loved this and he's a picky eater. It is however a wonderful recipe for a base. Thanks for a recipe I will make for hubby and plan on playing with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Alden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States