Tommy's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
My family loves this recipe. I start with 2 cups of uncooked macaroni and cook it until it is nearly done. I also add more milk than the recipe calls for. Delicious. I may try adding frozen peas to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is a good way to use up leftover ham. It was a bit bland and dry and will need to be doctored next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was looking for a recipe to use some leftover ham and this is what I found...it was really good. My cheese loving husband said it needed more but I thought it was great! VERY easy with lots of leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I sauteed and added 1/2 diced medium onion, 1 sliced large celery stalk, and 1/4 c diced mushrooms. I also added 3 tbsp fat free sour cream. I used 1 whole cup of milk rather than the 1/2 and used 2 cups of cheee total. 1 c. skim mozzerella, 1 c. sharp cheddar. I used 1/4 c ritz crackers, 1/4 cup Panko, and 1/4 c. seasoned italian breadcrumbs for the topping. I baked under foil for 15 minutes without topping, and 15 minutes uncovered with topping. I thought that this recipe was just so/so. It tastes like ham and cheese. I would have added potatoes or some extra ingredient to jazz it up a little. It wasn't bad by any means, just not anything spectacular. NOTE: This recipe makes a HUGE amount of casserole. It's far more than 12 servings, in my opinion. More like 18ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Well, I made this with my leftover ham. Made some adjustments as others suggested: included 1 cup ea. sauteed onion and celery; used 2 cans cream of mushroom soup mixed with 1/2 soup can of milk (plus a few extra TBS of milk); pinch of garlic powder; dash of pepper; small squeeze of spicy brown mustard. For the cheese - I used 1 cup shredded cheddar, and 1 cup shredded pepper jack. I also used crushed Ritz crackers on top of the casserole. When it was done, I tasted it before taking out of my roaster oven. Fantastic! BUT.... when I removed it from the roaster, my casserole dish slipped from my hands, and down went the casserole all over my kitchen floor! What a mess, coupled with breaking my favorite dish!! Glad I was able to taste it before it ended up all over the floor!! I think the pepper jack cheese gave it the extra "zing" that some reviewers said it needs. I will be making this again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I used 2 cups macaroni. Also saute the cooked ham,onion,garlic,1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 1/2 cups of milk,canned mushroom(all I had) and mozzerella cheese(all I had)till a boil,then tossed in the macaroni and transfered to dish and baked as followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I also took the advice from the others who have rated this recipe and "spiced" it up.... I do have to agree that I should have used 2 cans of milk and/or more sour cream as it did turn out a little on the dry side.... a VERY easy and tasty solution to left-over ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
this was very good. i sauted an onion in some EVOO, added some sour cream, garlic powder and some frozen peas. the topping i used ritz crackers mixed with some parmesean cheese. also added more milk to the mix. YUMMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wright City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This is the best ham casserole ever!!! My picky 10 y/o loved it!!! I did add a few things like everybody else did. Sour cream, Cooked onions, garlic, 2 cups of med. ch cheese,& plenty of pepper. I also used 25% less sod. Cream of Mushroom and it still tasted GREAT!! This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Added more cheese, peas, and sauteed mushrooms; got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pantry Ham and Beans

Creamy Great Northern beans simmer with cooked ham, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States