Tommy's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe was a hit with the family, for sure! A great way to get rid of ham leftovers. My slight variation included the following: 1) using NoYolk egg noodles instead of regular mac 2) adding 1.5 cups of frozen mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, & corn) 3) dusting the top of casserole with Panko bread crumbs and parmesan cheese. Winner, winner, ham casserole dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
We have a small family, so when a ham is on sale we use it for multiple meals. This is one we use often for leftovers. Most casseroles have a cheese base. While this one has cheese, it is not cheesy which is a refreshing change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Tried this and my whole family disliked it. Too bland without flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I thought it was bland, the youngest in the family liked it. Not a bad way to use up a lot of leftover ham. I loaded up with hot wing sauce, and it was much better. Could pretty much use it to use up leftovers and put just about anything in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Schoth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
The first time I served it it was great, not a good leftover. Dries out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I thought it lacked flavor. I might try it again with a different soup and add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is our family's favorite meal. Ham can easily be replaced with bacon if you don't have the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This was a great base to work upon. We are not big portion eaters however I did bump the ingredients by one third. The dish would have been a little too close to quite make the 6 person portion. I didn't have the cream of mushroom soup, so I made a roux 3 TB of of melted butter and 3 TB of flour and added one can of evaporated milk plus 5 oz. of half and half and a can of mushrooms. It was better than the canned version! I also added the extra milk portion in the recipe plus a little more and then I the cheese (both at room temp) to the cream mixture and heated until smooth and creamy. I mixed all the ingredients into a sprayed caserole dish (I did shred the ham as it blends into the dish nicely). I then added aproximately 4 cups of fresh baby spinach and mixed it into the casserole. I finished as directed. It was very good although next time I will add just a few pinches of nutmeg to the creamed mixture before adding all the ingredients to the casserole to add that next layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was good. Hubby said we could do this one again. Super simple to make. I will be honest; I used Velveeta and shells as a shortcut and it was just fine. Thanks so much! We had tons of ham leftover after Easter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncbeachchick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Good way to use up leftover ham and macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States