Tommy's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I was so looking forward to making this chili. I am from California and love Tommy's chili. Unfortunately this was a huge disappointment. I am back to the kitchen to try and salvage this recipe according to Jason's feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
awesome!! just like tommy's chili :-D rather than spending $100 bucks on the real stuff, it's way better just making your own. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I give this recipe four stars with the qualification that it needs some serious modification. Since this is a topping for hotdogs, burgers, and fries, NO BEANS! Chili-Beans are for flatlanders! Modify as follows: 3/4 c. flour, 6-8 tbs. (or more) of chili powder, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tbs. (or more) garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. (or more) ground cumino, and one 6oz. can of tomato paste. I also add more onion and garlic when I cook the beef. This mixture will render a nice thick chili that clings to what you put it on but isn't paste-like and has a rich chili taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Overall it was a very good base for chili, I liked the idea of sneaking in carrots, BUT I did doctor it up quite a bit-- added more spices, as well as beans, and peppers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Had to doctor this up ALOT because it just tasted like hamburger. Added more spices and ketchup, not bad after the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Mayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
You Have to and I stress 'Have' to use ground beef with fat. Lean ground beef will not give you enough fat for the rue that is needed. The Recipes tells you stir flour and drippings until golden brown. That is a must to create the flavor base or else you will end up with a floury paste. Brown the hec out of it without burning it and it will taste like Tommy's chili intended for a topping on dogs and fries. As the other reviewer states it is not a chili to be eaten alone. Top that dog with it and a pile of onions, cheese and jalapenos and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Tommy's Chili Recipe. I really love Tommy Burgers and being 2000 miles away from Cali now I really miss them. 3 Years ago I ordered 1 gallon of chili from Tommy's and had it shipped. I parted out all the chili and froze it. I just made this recipe exactly as the directions said and I've got to say although it's a good chili it's definitely not Tommy's Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This recipe needs some background. This is the recipe for the chili to Original Tommy's Hamburgers, located in the Los Angeles area. It has a number of devotees. Thus this chili belongs on your hamburger, hot dog, or french fries, not eaten alone. I am not affiliated with him, but he should get the credit for a job well done. It tastes just like the real thing, and we enjoy it immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The recipie was not bad, but PLEASE do not use 2 teaspoons of salt! I think my hearts gonna explode! I'm still trying to water it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States