Tomatoed Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is very similar to the dish we've been making in our family for years, I know ppl hate when otheres do this, but i didnt follow exactly. But then i rarely follow a recipe exactly. THe way i made this is, with the cut pork i placed in a saucepan, slightly covered with water, and simmered with salt until all water evaporated(it makes the pork more tender) Once all evaporated I added veg oil, onion and jalapeno(with seeds cuz we like it hot) and salt pepper, garlic powder, cumin, oregano. let fry until browned, I added 2 small roma tomatoes coarsely chopped and about 1/4 cup of tomato sauce(im sure it would work great with the diced tomatoes like the recipe calls for, I just didnt have any) I let cook until tomatoes were tender, I added about 1/4 -1/2 cup of water, and let simmer together. I didnt add mushrooms because my husband doesnt like them,but it sure sounds good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We made this in the crock pot with two cans of tomatoes and jalapenos instead of the fresh jalapenos, and we really like it. We've already made twice, once to eat in tortillas, and once we shredded the meat and used it for chilaquiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
very good dish easy and very tasteful all i done was seeded the jalapenos and i used fire roasted diced tomatoes a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Why would someone leave a review without making the recipe. If the pic is not pleasing...move on. The TASTE was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Manchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very delicious! It smelled great as it was cooking and was really easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I think this one came out great.I left in half the jalapeno seeds and used fire roasted tomatoes and served over rice.it had just the right bite and the taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingnewthings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe was easy to follow, and the end result quite good. I added a little cornstarch towards the end to thicken the sauce, and we ate it with tortillas...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Years ago I got a very similar recipe from a Mexican lady. She called it Chilosa.This version has no mushrooms, more tomatoes,and is spooned over rice and loaded into unfried corn tortillas for eating. Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Amazing dish! I did what another poster said and pretty much boiled the pork rather than fry it. Then continued the recipe as normal. The way I serve it is different. Instead of over rice or anything, I love it wrapped in a tortilla with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cooking Couple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
PERFECT With vermicelli! A+.Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstanton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States