Tomatoed Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is very similar to the dish we've been making in our family for years, I know ppl hate when otheres do this, but i didnt follow exactly. But then i rarely follow a recipe exactly. THe way i made this is, with the cut pork i placed in a saucepan, slightly covered with water, and simmered with salt until all water evaporated(it makes the pork more tender) Once all evaporated I added veg oil, onion and jalapeno(with seeds cuz we like it hot) and salt pepper, garlic powder, cumin, oregano. let fry until browned, I added 2 small roma tomatoes coarsely chopped and about 1/4 cup of tomato sauce(im sure it would work great with the diced tomatoes like the recipe calls for, I just didnt have any) I let cook until tomatoes were tender, I added about 1/4 -1/2 cup of water, and let simmer together. I didnt add mushrooms because my husband doesnt like them,but it sure sounds good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
very good dish easy and very tasteful all i done was seeded the jalapenos and i used fire roasted diced tomatoes a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very delicious! It smelled great as it was cooking and was really easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
We made this in the crock pot with two cans of tomatoes and jalapenos instead of the fresh jalapenos, and we really like it. We've already made twice, once to eat in tortillas, and once we shredded the meat and used it for chilaquiles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I think this one came out great.I left in half the jalapeno seeds and used fire roasted tomatoes and served over rice.it had just the right bite and the taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingnewthings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Why would someone leave a review without making the recipe. If the pic is not pleasing...move on. The TASTE was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Manchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Years ago I got a very similar recipe from a Mexican lady. She called it Chilosa.This version has no mushrooms, more tomatoes,and is spooned over rice and loaded into unfried corn tortillas for eating. Yummo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this yesterday, and it was awesome. I took one reviewer's suggestion to tenderize the pork by simmering it first. I knew it would take awhile, so started tenderizing it early in the day. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and we really enjoyed it. I served it over rice. Will make this again, for sure! Nice cheap dish and heavenly aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheb61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I liked the simplicity of this recipe and decided to cook exactly as directed. I do like really spicy foods but but for my family after simmering the peppers with the pork mixture I only returned one of the chopped peppers (without seeds) to the tomato mixture. I plated with white rice, and offered the following condiments: mozzarella cheese, salsa and I reserved half of jalapenos for the table for those who want to kick it up a little. Really happy with the way it turned out and will cook it again soon. Thanks Amy for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe was easy to follow, and the end result quite good. I added a little cornstarch towards the end to thicken the sauce, and we ate it with tortillas...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States