Tomatoed Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Zswanie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I added 2 cups of fresh brown mushrooms with the onions and left the can of mushrooms. Also used deboned pork chops. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Not bad! Both my hubs and I really enjoyed this, although the heat factor was a bit of an issue for me.... I like spicy food, but this was WICKED spicy lol! NOTE TO SELF: ONLY USE 1 JALAPENO NEXT TIME (or remove the seeds from one of them to cut some of the spice)!!!!! I usually follow the submitter's cooking / preparation directions to the letter (unless they seem contradictory, erroneous or I feel I can improve or streamline the process), but will often times make ingredient substitutions to suit my tastes. This time, not only did I make a few personal adjustments, I also altered the cooking method - and I wish I wouldn't have.... :( As wifeyluvs2cook did, I simmered my pork (to tenderize it) before proceeding with the recipe as directed. I'm not sure where I went wrong, but my pork ended up VERY tough. I am a fan of wifey's recipes and her cooking style, but this time her advice didn't work for me. I STRONGLY suggest that you follow Amy's directions, at least initially. You can always make changes next time. Having said this, wifey's suggestion to add a pinch of garlic powder / oregano was spot on (both added great flavor, IMHO). her suggestion to substitute fresh tomatoes, tomato sauce and water also worked well, so if you don't have canned tomatoes, don't sweat it. Steamed rice, refried beans and corn tortillas completed our meal. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Amy! I can't wait to make this again, albeit after my mouth cools off a bit haha! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love this recipe!!! Everytime I make this recipe the pork always comes out so tender and flavorful! I always make this with your Mexican Fideo recipe. Thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Pretty good! Could use a bit more flavor, either from salt, lard, knorr (I know....) or maybe more garlic...idk. That is my opinion though. The kids and hubby LOVED it and didn't have any negative comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Amazing dish! I did what another poster said and pretty much boiled the pork rather than fry it. Then continued the recipe as normal. The way I serve it is different. Instead of over rice or anything, I love it wrapped in a tortilla with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cooking Couple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is a great main dish that was easier to make than I first thought! Thank so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
PERFECT With vermicelli! A+.Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstanton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I really enjoyed this..I used fresh mushrooms. Spicy and light served on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The house smells wonderful because I made this in the crock pot today. I made this pretty much to recipe but without the mushrooms and my husband really loved it. We had it in tortillas with sour cream, cheese, guacomole lettuce. Good recipe Amy_S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States