Tomato and Zucchini Melange Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I LOVE zucchini, but don't like it "boiled" and white and mushy, so instead of just throwing it all in a pot with water, I instead fried the onions in olive oil, set them aside, heated more olive oil in a pot and threw in the zuc, letting it brown on the bottom, then stirring, brown, stirring, etc. (it doesn't get totally brown, but it's just lightly stirfried and has a bit of browning. I also threw in garlic at this point, and the basil and oregano. Meanwhile I was slicing the fresh tomatoes, and I threw the cooked onions and the raw tomatoes all into the pot, stirred it all together, turned the flame down real low, and just simmered it. I DID NOT add water ... there's plenty of water in the tomatoes and zucchini's to make this juicy. I didn't bring it to a boil or anything, the tomatoes are nicer if they're just heated in the simmering pot. It still comes out a little mushy (that's the style of dish) but a little more visually attractive and less "goopy." :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I chose this recipe because it reminded me of a dish my mom used to make when I was a child. I liked how it called for salsa which added some dimension to the dish. I also added some pressed garlic. I did not add water because I used a regular tomato which tends to be watery. Once it was plated I added shredded parmesan and crumbled feta. The feta did the trick. It was okay tasting until that was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I first sauteed one small onion and a few cloves of garlic in some EVOO then I added regular tomatoes (from my garden) and continued to lightly simmer a few minutes then I added the zucchini and spices. I left out the water as my tomatoes are really juicy and they provided plenty of liquid. This is really good. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
We LOVED this. Super easy to make and tasty! I added some finely diced garlic and red bell peppers. I cooked the zucchini/bell peppers first and added the tomatoes in for the last 1-2 minutes of cooking. Tasty and healthy - will definately be saving this recipe to use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I thought the kids would turn up their noses but they wolfed it down. Very surprised but pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This was very easy to make. I am always looking for creative ways to use the abundance of zucchini from our garden. I added freshly grated parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
A good start. It was a little bland. I had the same thing when I stayed in France, but this is not the same at all. I'll attempt it again, only I'll add garlic and cook the veggies a bit longer so the spices have a chance to soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! I enjoy finding recipes that are guilt-free and still good tasting. I added yellow squash and crushed garlic in addition to the original and recommended ingredients. Very satisfying and aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Pretty good, easy to adapt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was just okay for me. Probably wouldn't fix again. Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States