Tomato and Mozzarella Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Sooo goooood!! I literally JUST posted this recipe on here as well after finding a similar one a different site. I brought these last night to a picnic and they were a hit! There were none left and I made about 50 of them! I bought everything from Trader Joes-a pack of basil, sweet cherry tomatoes, and mozzarella balls that came in a container with an olive oil/herb marinade. I assembled these like this picture and since the balls were already in a marinade I just spooned a tiny bit of the marinade left in the container over the entire plate! Then I sprinkled a tiny bit of salt and cracked pepper. Also, I used the rest of the basil to cover the plate before arranging these. It's a beautiful presentation! A must have for parties, picnics, wherever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I used Ciliegine Mozzarella (the smallest fresh mozzarella balls) but I wish I had been more concerned w/ the quality of the mozzarella instead of the size. The brand I chose was completely flavorless. I can halve a bigger ball but it's hard to add flavor to flavorless mozzarella. ;o) Like so many reviewers, I used the vinegar & oil as a marinade instead of as a dip. Don't skimp on the salt! I think next time I'll either put a little bowl of salt out, to roll the tomatoes in or I'll serve the bites on a bed of kosher salt. Great appetizer for a fettucine alfredo dinner...thanks! SiNsGirl's pic is superb so I saved myself the embarassment of posting a pic. LOL Great job, SiNsGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
If you only use 1/2 grape tomato, basil leaf, & 1/2 mozzarella ball on a toothpick, you have a 1 bite snack! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I use grape tomatoes and mozzarella balls approximately the same size and cut both in half,placing them on a toothpick starting with 1/2 tomato,piece of basil,mozzarella,basil and tomato,place them on serving dish....then I make an olive tapenade and drizzle that over the tomato, mozzarella bites.....delicious!tapenade recipe is as follows:1/4 cup chopped pitted kalmata olives, 1/2 cup xtra v. OO, 1/4 tsp minced garlic, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, pinch dried oregano..mix all in a mini blender and pulse until blended..drizzle over tomato bites....now it is a 5 star!! this tapenade freezes well for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I served these at an appetizer party and everyone thought they were really cute and tasty. Instead of using the balsamic vinegar as a dip, I drizzled it on top of the bites with some zesty italian dressing and dried herbs. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I, too, used the oil and vinegar as a marinade and found these to be a very easy, tasty appetizer. Since I don't like salty food, I orginally didn't add much salt, but upped the amount after reading the review by IMVINTAGE. It made a huge difference in the flavor. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Very easy to make, I had my daughter put them together. I did purchase the fresh mozzarella in the dairy section and cut it into 1/2 in cubes, the fresh mozzarella mini balls were a little pricey. I also just purchased a bottle balsalmic vinagrette and marinated the bites in that. Tasted like bruchetta without the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOKY1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was really good! I used the marinated braid from Trader Joes, just unbraided it and cut in chunks. It made about 40 of them. I poured the whole thing of evoo and balsomic vinegar over the top and just poured it off before I plated it (30min later), next time I think I will make far less of it and drizzle it over them after I plate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These rocked!! Everyone at the bbq that I took it to LOVED it, AND requested it. Thank you to all who suggested the marinated mozzarella from Trader Joes - yum! This hands down will become one of my must have favorites. Thanks for a yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I've taken this to three functions in the past month and each time it is a huge hit! Fresh ingredients are a must, no substitutions. People are astonished at how easy this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States