Tomato and Mozzarella Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Beautiful presentation and easy! I arranged them on a nice plate with black patterned trim. It looked so colorful, like a piece of art! I drizzled the balsamic mixture over the entire plate, especially the mozz. balls to soak flavore in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was a winner with the four little guinea pigs next door who had previously come only as close to eating tomatoes as ketchup. It's a very attractive dish and the kids liked the little plastic sword picks I served them on. I drizzled with balsamic glaze. I will make this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I couldn't believe how good these tasted. It was so easy, and made a nice, simple, elegant appetizer. I added italian seasoning to the oil and vinegar and drizzled it over the appetizers. I also bought a large ball of fresh mozzarella and cut it into chunks rather than using the small mozz balls. It made a very nice presentation as well. Will definitely be doing this one often. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
These were pretty good. I do recommend that you use a flavored mozzarella. I used a smoked one and it tasted so much better than when I used the plain. Pretty on a plate and received pretty good reviews from those I served it too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Tasty as 1 big bowl for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I ate Caprese Salad almost every day the month I traveled in Italy. That experience taught me that tomatoes are meant to be much tastier than the bland version we find in American supermarkets. This is basically a Caprese Salad but made into bite sized pieces. It's a great idea although I must say I didn't find it as awesome as I thought it was going to be. However, one of my friends really thought it was great. I used the already marinated mozzarella balls from Trader Joe's and I still made the balsamic vinegar dipping sauce in the recipe as a side. We used the dip and it was quite tasty. Next time I will use more salt. I don't think I used enough and that likely affected the outcome/overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Simple and pretty but it didn't "wow" me. I would use these more as a garnish than an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These were great, I used the trader joes marinated mozz like others suggested and drizzled them with baslamic & oil. The salt is crucial in bringing out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I had a holiday dinner party last night and this was one of the apps I served...what a hit! I highly recommend using marinated mozz balls (got mine at Costco) and use the whole ball. It would not have been as tasty with just plain mozz balls. Instead of the dipping sauce, just sprinkle balsalmic vinegar on the finished platter before serving. I did not sprinkle cheese on top...seemed like it would be overkill. The marinated mozz balls did the trick! The only other thing I would recommend is make extra...25 for 10 people was not enough...plan on each person eating four of them (so make 40 for 10 people)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
When I saw the photos of this recipe, I thought "why didn't I ever think of this?" What a great idea - so pretty and colorful. It's a wonderful for parties. I used marinated mozzarella balls and drizzled with a little balsamic vinegar. The leaves on the basil I used were quite large so I would jst tear the basil leaf in half to get an appropriate size. Easy and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States