Tomato and Mozzarella Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made these for a party and they are a beautiful appetizer - but the mozzarella balls lacked flavor, the mozzarella roll I usually buy has a much better flavor. I will stick with sliced garden tomatoes and sliced mozzarella arranged with fresh basil on a plate, definitely use salt, pepper and a balsamic drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by staceywatts
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
When I saw this recipe I knew I must make it! I love fresh mozzerella salad and I thought the bite size idea was great! I forgot my toothpicks though so I had to plate it. It was still very tasty and so pretty! I did not add vinegar or pepper due t personal preference. I will certainly make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
People are always amazed at how good a simple and light salad can taste. There are only a few ingredients involved here so use fresh tomatoes, basil, good olive oil and REAL mozzarella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Brought this to a bbq and got tons of raves. I tried to put them away a few times to clear up space for the main meal, but was attacked by friends who wanted me to leave them out. I also marinated the cheese a bit. Made my first balsamic reduction to drizzle over the top and I'm hooked. These were beautiful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I made these as a side dish and everyone really enjoyed them. However, I did not have mozzarella chesse so I used cubed munster chess. I also used about 1/4 of a basil leaf in place of a full leaf. I found that the full leaf was too powerful of a taste and took away from the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I made this for a party of 65 people. and everyone loved them. I assembled them early in the day and then just before the party I poured a preseasoned olive oil over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
An easy and tasty appetizer that goes together quickly and looks lovely. I marinated the bocconcini in balsamic vinaigrette for a few hours before assembling the bites, and this worked well. This is a very light appetizer, which is good because it doesn't spoil your dinner. If you are planning on a long cocktail hour before dinner, though, serve something else along with it because your guests will be tipsy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I made these for a birthday party this past weekend and everyone loved them! The best part--they are so simple to put together. I bought the marinated mozzarella balls and tomatoes from SAMS Club and had thai basil on hand so it took no time to assemble. Once assembled, I lightly sprinkled with some kosher salt and done. Such a fabulous idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBECKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Everyone at our party loved these. I did not, however, closely follow the recipe. I had every intention of doing so and even bought the necessary ingredients. But I also bought marinated mozzarella bars as did many other reviewers. The marinade in the tub of marinated mozzarella bars was delicious so, in the end, I decided to just lightly drizzle that over the bites instead of make my own. Wonderful, easy idea and beautiful presentation, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Initially there wasn't a lot of flavour to these but after sitting in the balsamic dressing for awhile, they became tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States