Tomato and Mozzarella Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great. Marinated the bocconcini for a couple of hours in olive oil, balsamic vinegar, chilis, basil, italian seasoning, garlic powder. Used bigger sticks instead of toothpicks. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Cute and creative idea to refashion Caprese salad! Hubs and I had a light dinner tonight that basically needed a little garnish and color. This was perfect. However, I'm a purist when it comes to Caprese so the vinegar was not for me. Just drizzled the little skewers with olive oil, garnished our dinner plates with them and instantly added great flavor and color to our dinner. (If you've never had bocconcini, do seek them out and give them a try! They're fresh, white and kind of spongy, and you'll usually finding them packed in their own brine of whey and water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Made this for Easter appetizers. They made a great presentation and the fresh basil leaves added a nice touch for color and flavor. No one liked the dipping sauce however, but taste is subjective. I will make this again but use a different dipping sauce and will marinate the mozz. as many suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Classy and healthy option for party appetizers, i drizzled the olive oil and balsamic over the top before serving and cracked some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very fun and different appetizer! Before making for a party, I tried a few with mozzarella marinaded in the balsamic mixture and a few as written. We definitely preferred the marinaded ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Natural

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These are perfect little appetizers to take to a party or serve at your own. Since some people don't love basil like I do, I ground up fresh basil-it has more flavor than the dried basil, but the dried basil will work in a pinch-and added it to the oil and vinegar which I drizzled over the plate just before the guests arrived. They disappeared faster than I could replace them! I also lined the plate with slices of baguettes and had the server with the oil/vinegar/basil so that they could sop up their leftovers or use as a dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
These were so great! They went so quick I wished I had made more! I just used zesty Italian dressing and I marinated the mozzerella instead of pouring it over them. Then I just put some dressing on the side. They were so deliciuos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I love these. I only put half a tomato on the stick so it is easier to bite. Plus we love fresh mozz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I went looking for a "different" idea for an appetizer to take to a progressive dinner. So glad I found this. Everyone raved about them and they are so simple. I did cheat and bought a bottle of balsamic vinaigrette dressing, though. It worked perfect. LOVED the fresh basil. I'd never bought it fresh before and am now in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
makes a beautiful presentation, and goes fast. But lacks something in taste. I used the Trader Joe's marinated mozzarella balls, and it still was quite mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States