Tomato and Garlic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
This is probably one of my favorite recipes from this site! I have made it more times than I can count. You really want to use quality ingredients for this. Use fresh, red, ripe tomatoes, as the flavor is just something you can't get out of a can. Use a good olive oil. Fresh garlic. I always use dried basil but I'm sure fresh basil would be great too. I also sometimes splash in just a little bit of sweet balsamic vinegar (about 1/2 - 3/4 tablespoon). It really gives this dish a unique flavor. I absolutely love this one. It is so light and delicious. Thanks so much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I'm not sure why the tomatoes are boiled in the first stage. If it is to peel them - cut a cross on the bottoms and place in a bowl of boiled water and leave for 1/2 a minute or so. Pick up with a fork and peel the skins off easily. Otherwise it is a reasonably tasty spaghetti - needs a little more flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I just made this and had to rate it right away. This is fantastic! I didn't have any parm on hand so i omitted it. i was concerned that w/o the cheese it would be lacking in flavor, but it is not at all. I was looking for a recipe to duplicate something that i had at a restaurant and this matches it exactly. (of course at the restaurant it cost $18 rather than the $3 to make it myself!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was delicious! I think that I had a definite advantage using garden fresh tomatoes - they have SO much more flavor than the store bought tomatoes! I also doubled the garlic and laid off of the olive oil - it really doesn't need so much. I tossed it with garlic and parsley fettuccini and it made for a very healthy, easy and delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe, especially if you have fantastic tomatoes and plenty of fresh basil. If you are lacking in the produce department, add some mushrooms for more flavor. Here's what I did: I sauteed 8 oz of quartered crimini mushrooms with the garlic until they released their juices, 2 to 3 minutes. Then, I added a 1/4 cup of dry white wine and cooked over medium-high heat until all the liquid had been absorbed. I followed the recipe from there, adding the tomatoes and pasta. It turned out great and the mushrooms really made up for my less than perfect tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Wow!!! The best and most delicious sauce I have ever tasted!! This is fantastic!!!! The fresh tomato is to die for!! I added mushrooms and onions, and mmm mmm mmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a nicely flavoured, quick and easy recipe to make. In the winter, the tomato paste is a good idea as fresh tomatoes tend to be tasteless. However, in the summer, I would definitely omit the paste, as it would interfere with the fresh taste. Fresh (not dried) basil is a must. My store didn't have it but the the frozen type worked well. I added a splash of white wine to the recipe when I added the tomatoes. Half the olive oil could also be substitued with butter, which gives a beautiful rich flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Does Sallad

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I've been putting off making this recipe until I could get decent tasting tomatoes from the store. I added a little more garlic, and I also cooked the pasta using the 'Enhanced Spagetti' method from this site. It turned out absolutely perfect! I can't wait to make it again with fresh homegrown tomatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is delicious, easy to make, and I feel so healthy when I have it! I always use whole wheat angel hair pasta and add a dash of balsamic to the sauce per another reviewer's suggestion. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Very easy to make and turned out absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States