Tomato and Garlic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was so good! I added half a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, a couple of dashes of garlic salt, seven garlic cloves, and one and a half tablespoons of tomato paste. I accidently put a pound of spaghetti in (WOOPS!) but it was still soooo good that everyone had seconds and even thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
excellent. I did add a splash of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
So simple and has a nice flavor. The whole family enjoyed this. A nice, very basic pasta recipe when you are in a time crunch. I off course added and increased herbs and spices to make it more to my liking. But if you like a more simple sauce then stick exactly to the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDS7210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is a great recipe. Use only fresh tomatoes, score bottom of tomato with X and place in very hot water and then in ice water, this will make it easy to peel. Increased recipe 4lbs tomato, 6 cloves garlic, 3 tbsp of basil, 3tbsp fresh parsley, 8 oz can of italian herb tomato sauce, 2 tbsp tomato, paste, 1/4 cup of white wine, 1 pkg of red peppers(we like spicey). Can add shrimp. The use of all the fresh ingredients makes this recipe great! I made this for a family dinner and had to cook more pasta because the first batch was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is absolutely fabulous. The only change I made was to add some chopped onion to the garlic (personal preference). Otherwise, it is perfect as written. Will make this over and over again. Everyone loved it!!! It sounds really simple, but the secret is in using all fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a nicely flavoured, quick and easy recipe to make. In the winter, the tomato paste is a good idea as fresh tomatoes tend to be tasteless. However, in the summer, I would definitely omit the paste, as it would interfere with the fresh taste. Fresh (not dried) basil is a must. My store didn't have it but the the frozen type worked well. I added a splash of white wine to the recipe when I added the tomatoes. Half the olive oil could also be substitued with butter, which gives a beautiful rich flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Does Sallad

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I'm not sure why the tomatoes are boiled in the first stage. If it is to peel them - cut a cross on the bottoms and place in a bowl of boiled water and leave for 1/2 a minute or so. Pick up with a fork and peel the skins off easily. Otherwise it is a reasonably tasty spaghetti - needs a little more flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Delicious! The tomatoes didn't take as long as I thought to "make". A simple and light meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was very easy and delicious. I think roma tomatoes give the sauce the best flavor and texture. I doubled the garlic, because we love garlic. To save on dishes, carefully lift your tomatoes out of the boiling water and toss your pasta in to cook. We used whole wheat spaghetti, because that's what we had on hand, and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*T*L*Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was great. I only gave 4 stars because I used canned diced tomato's and added some extra spices. I cannot wait to try with fresh garden tomato's. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noble, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States