Tomato and Garlic Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Let me start by saying that my husband is Italian and is the designated sauce maker in this house. That said, occasionally, I venture into his territory as I did with this recipe and it is FABULOUS. I first found this when I was planning my New Year's Eve dinner party and wanted a pasta course that was simple and delicious - amazing. Since then, I've made it many times (and it's only March!) and I'm giving it 5 stars even though I haven't even been able to make it with fresh tomatoes yet. The only additions I made were about a teaspoon of dried basil and dried oregano into the oil when the garlic is cooking (the smell is AMAZING.) Considering it is winter, the tomatoes here look pretty paltry and I'm getting rave reviews even with high quality canned (San Marzano work well.) I can't wait to try it with fresh. Anyway, if you are looking for a simple and delicious pasta, where the freshness of the ingredients can shine through, you've found the only recipe you will ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Loved this! I did not cook the fresh tomatoes - just cut and put right in at the end. I used 1 1/2 lbs pasta and only used two large tomatoes and that was plenty for my taste. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Very easy and very tasty! Great way to use the tomatoes from my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelly McCrillis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bright, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Light and refreshing. I followed the directions exactly and blanched the tomatoes, but for me it’s totally unnecessary. If you don’t mind eating the tomato skin, just chop ‘em up and toss ‘em directly into the skillet. You’ll save yourself a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yum, this was good. It has all the components I look for in a dinner type recipe: It is cheap to make, quick to put together, healthy, and taste pretty descent. The changes I made was using 1 Tblsp of olive oil to saute the garlic in. I misread it should be more. I also used, 2 15oz cans of petite diced tomatoes for the 2lbs of prepared tomatoes. That saved so much time and dishes! Since canned tomatoes have salt I didn't add any and I don't care for black pepper, so I didn't add any of that either. I don't have fresh basil, so I just added a pinch of dried. I find it to be really strong. The ingredients list doesn't mention it, but the recipe says to add 2 Tblsp of olive oil to the cooked drained noodles. I think it was neccessary for added flavor and so they didn't bunch up, but blend in with the sauce. The angel hair pasta was the perfect type. It made 4 generous servings. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This pasta is so simple and absolutely yummy!! We so enjoyed this! The flavors come through really good. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I didn't think this was much to write home about at all. Rather bland if you ask me, but it is quick and easy. Wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie J. Woeber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Fantastic recipe!! Absolutely love this one. We were blown away by just how good this tasted - and it's so light and summer-y! We only made one change - added about 100g of chicken breast for added protein (didn't want to use anymore chicken as it would overpower the tomato flavour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is a great quick dish. I make it all summer with tomatoes and basil from the garden. Sometimes I add zucchini or peppers if I have them on hand. My whole family loves this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snelson1077

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this with penne and love it. So much better than using store bought pasta sauce. Plus, its soo easy and quick! to add some extra spice to it, I usually put in chopped green chilies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States