Tomato and Basil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Amazing! I only made a couple changes to the recipe. I used 2 cups of cheese (amount came in package) and after the quiche was in the oven for 10 minutes I sprinkled nutmeg on the top. The flavor was great and I enjoyed everything about this recipe. My only suggestion is to add some more olive oil prior to sauteeing the tomatoes because they tended to stick to the pan. Great recipe and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This was great, but I did make a few changes. I diced the tomatoes rather than slicing them, and I did not peel them (I used sweet grape tomatoes). I also minced the onion instead of slicing it and added a few cloves of minced garlic. It turned out great. I served it at a bridal shower, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
So easy and yummy...except that I can't follow a recipe perfectly, so I removed the onions, added 1 cup chopped steamed spinach, and sauteed mushrooms, plus a tiny dash of nutmeg in the egg mixture....Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
The intense flavor that the tomatoes get from the quick pan fry makes this dish sublime! My 17 month old little girl loved this! Very kid friendly, just add a salad and you've got a great meal! ****Update!! Forgot to pick up a store bought pie crust and used a puff pastry that I had in the freezer....man, you gotta try it!! It is WONDERFUL! I so love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
I don't like quiche but I really loved this! It doesn't have that "eggy" taste that I usually object to in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I love this recipe. I did make a change, though. I used Roma tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes. The quiche was a little runny and I blame that on the roma's. I will try again with regular tomatoes and I am sure it will be great. I love the flavors of this quiche. It's a great meatless meal that is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This is a great recipe you can make your own. I took others ideas and added fresh spinach, mushrooms, diced grape tomatoes and diced onion. I also added nutmeg as one reviewer suggested and it was divine. I also like that this recipe wasn't too eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Absolutely delicious! My boyfriend is not a quiche fan, but he really enjoyed this. I used canned tomatoes which I diced, and I added some oregano as well as basil. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
My famly and I loved this, easy and quick to prepare, too. For the basil, I used 1 tablespoon of fresh and 1 tablespoon of dried, the fresh was a nice touch in the dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
GREAT! What a great quiche! I added another 1T of oil to saute the floured tomatoes after removing the onions - there was nothing left in the pan and they started to stick. I used oat flour (I'm wheat intolerant) and you simply can't detect it. I doubled the flour-basil mix and dredged each tomato slice, fully coating it. After trying to turn them over, they fell a part, which was okay - made it easier to get into the quiche. (Next time I'll use diced tomatoes and shake the flour-basil mix with the tomatoes in a bag.) I used heavy cream for the milk portion, added 1cup diced cooked chicken to the onions, and doubled the amount of cheese (what can I say - we LOVE cheese!). I wrapped the crust edge with foil to prevent harsh browning, and sprinkled the top of the quiche with nutmeg before baking. I cooked the whole thing at 350 and let it bake for 40 minutes because I had to tend to some other things. This was simply fantastic! I also made some in a custard cup (sprayed with PAM) so it was crust-less for me! It slippped right out of the cup and looked very nice! Served with a side salad! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States