Tomato and Basil Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
UBER YUMMY!! The floured, fried tomatoes were so good, I could have eaten a plate of them straight. However, once they're baked into the quiche, it's dubious how necessary the frying step is. By the time they're cooked in the quiche, their light, crispy exteriors have dissipated. So the time and mess used to fry them doesn't serve much useful purpose. To eliminate that step, simply place the peeled, sliced tomatoes on paper towels, sprinkle lightly with salt on both sides, then allow to sit undisturbed for at least 20 minutes to draw out the excess moisture, sprinkle liberally with basil, then add to the quiche as directed. Carmelizing the onions (sauteeing until a deep, golden color) eliminates the sharp, in-your-face taste that can overwhelm the delicate flavor of the tomatoes, and tames it down to make it a delectable "team player." You can vary the flavor of this quiche simply by using any cheeses, in any combination, that you happen to like. I used brie with rinds removed, Jarlsberg and Asiago. The flavor was sensational. Even using only skim milk, the taste was sumptuous, the texture ethereal. Most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This turned out wonderful. I added a couple extra things: turkey bacon, I crumbled 3 strips, and added a handful of sauted mushrooms. One other changed, just because of personal preference I used only used a half onion. As others noted I needed an extra 10 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Having never made a quiche before, I found this recipe to be easy and delicious. I added salad shrimp. I did have to cook this a lot longer then the recipe called for, but that could be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was pretty good, though for me, it was lacking a little something. I will admit that I changed the recipe a little: I chopped everything up and mixed it all together like I do with every quiche. But the ingredients were all the same and it just lacked a little. I may try again with mushrooms or bacon added in. But otherwise pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very good quiche and pretty easy too. I too used fresh basil like others have and also added cubed pieces of roasted chicken which was good. Searing the tomatoes with flour and basil was something fun i've never had the chance to do before. This dish could easily work for breakfast, lunch, or supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I grew my own tomatos and basil specificly to make this dish because I loved it so much. Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I love this dish. I'm a big fan of quiches/savoury pies that consist of throwing together by eye some vegetables, egg, milk, and cheese, so I wasn't sure if the extra steps would be worth it. Lo and behold, they totally were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
A little bland, but a good basic recipe. Will change the seasoning, perhaps the cheese to gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
A friend brought a bunch of tomatoes in to work this morning. I knew if I didn't do something with them soon, they would go bad. This was really good. I had made a tomato pie a couple years back and this was hands down better. I fried the tomatoes in olive oil after I dredged them in a Italian breadcrumb and basil combo. I used cheddar and mozzarella because that's what I had on hand. This recipe was really easy and because of frying the tomatoes before you put them in the pie, they don't get watery in the pie. My only suggestion would be to add more tomato. Two tomatoes didn't seem to go too far once you fry them and they shrink down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This was a GREAT recipe! I had to double it for a party which was no problem. I did as others had suggested by using heavy cream and nutmeg. I also added minced sundried tomatoes, steamed asparagus, spinach, fresh basil and mushrooms. I also chopped the onions and tomatoes as suggested. I put sliced heirloom tomatoes on top for decoration. I also sprayed my cake pan with olive oil and baked it without any crust. I received many compliments and no quiche was left over after the party! I will definitely be making this again for dinner very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States