Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Family loves this. We omit the red pepper flakes sometimes, and I typically puree the sauce with the basil to add a pop. Reheats great if you freeze it for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight. It was simple and delicious. I used a 24 ounce can of crushed tomatoes because that is what I had and the sauce was plenty thick. I didn't have any balsamic, but I'm not sure if it made a difference or not. I also threw on some shredded Parmesan cheese right at the end. I served it with cheese tortellini. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was really easy to make and very very good! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Very thin sauce and doesn't stick very well. Could use a bit more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Tiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe! This was my first attempt and I knocked the ball out of the park with this recipe. I added an extra box of Pomi Pomi strained tomatoes, and used a can of whole peeled tomatoes and a can of cut-up tomatoes. I used 5 cloves of sliced garlic and I added one extra tspn of sugar and balsamic - though the next time I will, as we like it a little less sweet. The next time the sugar will go in for 1 minute before I add the remaining ingredients - sans the basil of course. My wife really enjoyed it. We like very spicy marina, so I ramped up the amount of the red pepper flakes to 2 teaspoons. This gave the dish a nice low/back heat, though when I experiment the next and reduce the sugar and balsamic by 1/4, I will reduce the red peppers flakes to just 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I am eating this right now and it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I added a red pepper because I had one that needed to be used asap. I roasted the red pepper and garlic, otherwise the recipe was followed as instructed. I also blended everything in a blender because I prefer a thinner sauce for what I was using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
OH MY GOD... I will never look for a sauce recipe ever again... Did add a little blob of butter to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The only problem is the sugar. It is not suppose to be a desert and we all know many chefs put it in many things. Sugar substitutes are out, of course. The vinegar is a must in most tomato sauces but for health reasons, leave out the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Loved this recipe! I omitted the sugar and vinegar, with amazing results. Four stars only because of the slight changes I made..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States