Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I am eating this right now and it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I added a red pepper because I had one that needed to be used asap. I roasted the red pepper and garlic, otherwise the recipe was followed as instructed. I also blended everything in a blender because I prefer a thinner sauce for what I was using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
OH MY GOD... I will never look for a sauce recipe ever again... Did add a little blob of butter to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The only problem is the sugar. It is not suppose to be a desert and we all know many chefs put it in many things. Sugar substitutes are out, of course. The vinegar is a must in most tomato sauces but for health reasons, leave out the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Loved this recipe! I omitted the sugar and vinegar, with amazing results. Four stars only because of the slight changes I made..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made this twice as posted and canned it. It is delish! Passed the "kid taste test" from both the picky 9 year old and the "sometimes I don't like spaghetti" 13 year old. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Made it exactly as written, except I blended the sauce before adding the basil as I wanted a smooth sauce. Fabulous! I will certainly be sharing this recipe with others and making it often. Even my husband who loves meat in his pasta sauce thought this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Ate this sauce tonight and it was excellent! We like extra garlic, so I used about 5 cloves instead of 2. I had no red pepper flakes (we don't like too spicy), but I just gave it a couple shakes of Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning. When it was nearly done, I tasted it and it was bland. So I then added a few pinches of fresh black pepper and 1/2 tablespoon of salt. That was just right. I reserved the fresh basil leaves for later - made sauce at mid-day, then reheated it to cook homemade meatballs in the evening. That's when I added the basil. The meatball recipe said add a little water as needed so your sauce doesn't dry out while you simmer the meatballs. I used water AFTER I used about a cup of white wine first. I'm sure that added a little flavor! The meatball recipe was from Fabio Viviano's book "Fabio's Italian Kitchen." They were excellent as well. Not sure if there is a similar recipe on this site, but I will check, and if not, I will try to add it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Easy and soooo yummy! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is my go-to pasta sauce recipe. The only thing I added, was mushrooms and a little extra garlic (big garlic lover here). Even without my minor changes, still 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BattleMom

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States