Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Hi, I had massive amounts of basil so I was just wanting to make a simple Basil sauce. This recipe was very easy on it’s own. I made adjustments because I had extra veggies that were in need of being used so I added them to this recipe. If you follow along with the original recipe it is very easy and good but if you have extra ingredients like I did it makes it even better. I added a Japanese eggplant and one green bell pepper to the onion and garlic sauté part. The eggplant ends up making the sauce even richer tasting since it just ends up mushing down once cooked through. I also added two fresh heirloom tomatoes chopped up because I didn’t have chopped canned tomatoes. I did have Trader Joes Tomato Sauce and their Diced & Fire Roasted canned tomato. I used those two instead of plain canned chopped tomato. Once the sauce looked ready I got a potato masher and mashed the chunks so that it wouldn’t be so chunky. I would recommend using a tad less sugar than what this recipe calls for .I’m glad that I found this recipe. It’s the first tomato sauce I’ve made and it will be a staple because it’s so tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I had 8 big beef tomatoes from my garden and decided to make baked ziti. I chopped the tomatoes and simmered it with the herbs in may garden thyme,basil,oregano, and rosemary. I did blended as well and added 6oz can of tomato paste to thicken it up. Haven't made fresh sauce in a while and this is delicious! This will make a great sauce for my baked ziti! Chill it up and you can have gazpacho by adding fresh diced green peppers and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Janis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Family loves this. We omit the red pepper flakes sometimes, and I typically puree the sauce with the basil to add a pop. Reheats great if you freeze it for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight. It was simple and delicious. I used a 24 ounce can of crushed tomatoes because that is what I had and the sauce was plenty thick. I didn't have any balsamic, but I'm not sure if it made a difference or not. I also threw on some shredded Parmesan cheese right at the end. I served it with cheese tortellini. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was really easy to make and very very good! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Very thin sauce and doesn't stick very well. Could use a bit more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Tiff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe! This was my first attempt and I knocked the ball out of the park with this recipe. I added an extra box of Pomi Pomi strained tomatoes, and used a can of whole peeled tomatoes and a can of cut-up tomatoes. I used 5 cloves of sliced garlic and I added one extra tspn of sugar and balsamic - though the next time I will, as we like it a little less sweet. The next time the sugar will go in for 1 minute before I add the remaining ingredients - sans the basil of course. My wife really enjoyed it. We like very spicy marina, so I ramped up the amount of the red pepper flakes to 2 teaspoons. This gave the dish a nice low/back heat, though when I experiment the next and reduce the sugar and balsamic by 1/4, I will reduce the red peppers flakes to just 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I am eating this right now and it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I added a red pepper because I had one that needed to be used asap. I roasted the red pepper and garlic, otherwise the recipe was followed as instructed. I also blended everything in a blender because I prefer a thinner sauce for what I was using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
OH MY GOD... I will never look for a sauce recipe ever again... Did add a little blob of butter to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shumail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States