Tomato and Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Oh, WOW, this is FANTASTIC! I halved the recipe, using some beautiful, ripe tomatoes from my dad's garden. I'm now wishing that I made the whole recipe b/c I can't stop eating it, lol. After tasting it, my first thought was crackers w/ cream cheese and this on top...AWESOME! I also plan on trying this on hot dogs/smoked sausages and grilled chicken, which I think would be wonderful. When this first started to boil/cook, I was worried b/c the tomato skins were coming off and I thought I should've peeled them first, but once it was all done, everything was 'candied' and you couldn't even tell. Mine took less than an hour to fully thicken, so maybe just keep an eye on it while it's going so it doesn't burn. I will def be making this often...it's super easy and super good~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
So glad I gave this a whirl. I cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup and it is still sweet. Since my bacon wasn't that smokey, I also added a bit of liquid smoke. As it was cooking down, I drizzled some over grilled zucchini and "Oh MY!" I think I will add some chili powder next time just for my taste and cut back the sugar a little more so it is a little more savory. Thanks for posting the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
YUM YUM YUM! After I saw this recipe this morning, I rushed to the nearest Wal-Mart (30 miles) and got my ingredients. After dinner, I whipped it up and we did the taste test. My husband and brother-in-law loved it, as did I. The smell at first was a little odd to me, as I'm pregnant, but once it started really cooking down, I found myself tasting it and loving every different stage more and more. I look forward to making more this sunday for my husband to take to the teacher's lounge on monday. I am sure we will get more great reviews then. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniSulli
Living In: Woodson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I happened to stumble upon this recipe recommended on the Buzz. Perfect timing, as I had some late tomatoes in my garden to use up before the frost did them in. I only had regular bacon, so I decided to add a bit of cumin to lend some smoky flavor. This is amazing- absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Me and my oldest son were bored this evening so we decided to give this recipe a shot. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so we used canned petite diced so we cut the recipe in half in case it didn't work with the canned variety. It did! We loved loved this its so good! We made bagel chips to eat with it very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for something to take to a party and stumbled upon this. it sounded so good, I made a double batch to make sure I'd have some leftover...and so glad I did because it was gone quickly at the party. I cut the salt back just a little (although I think it would have been fine at the suggested amount) and forgot to add the optional hot sauce. I simply served it with pieces of crusty bread and it was very yummy. The next day, I had some on a bagel with cream cheese and it was super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is awesome. My friends gobbled it up. I served as a topping for fried green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
We had an a bunch of cherry tomatoes from the garden and I needed a new recipe to use them up. Found this, tried it, LOVE it! My husband and daughter were a little nervous because it's called a "jam" but thought it was delicious. Made it exactly as the recipe except reduced the bacon to 3 strips (that's what I had on hand). I would reduce the sugar a bit because of the sweeter tomatoes and would up the amount of bacon, but I will absolutely make this again. And again. Try it on toasted french bread with a smear of goat cheese topped with the jam. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This is AMAZING! My boyfriend and I loved this! After reading all the reviews, I went ahead and made the full batch and I'm so glad I did. As other reviewers suggested, I added a little liquid smoke and a dash of cumin since my bacon didn't have a smoked flavor. Mine cooked down in a little less than an hour, but all of the ingredients caramelized beautifully and blended so well. We did the taste test on crackers with cream cheese, but I also plan on topping off a bagel with it and possibly on some eggs. This really would be good on anything! I imagine it would compliment pork very well. The only I will do differently next time is cut back on the salt, but yes, there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Yum!!! This was easy to make and YUMMY!!! I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. It was just too sweet the first time. I am HOOKED on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falls City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Humphrey, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States