Tomato and Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Oh, WOW, this is FANTASTIC! I halved the recipe, using some beautiful, ripe tomatoes from my dad's garden. I'm now wishing that I made the whole recipe b/c I can't stop eating it, lol. After tasting it, my first thought was crackers w/ cream cheese and this on top...AWESOME! I also plan on trying this on hot dogs/smoked sausages and grilled chicken, which I think would be wonderful. When this first started to boil/cook, I was worried b/c the tomato skins were coming off and I thought I should've peeled them first, but once it was all done, everything was 'candied' and you couldn't even tell. Mine took less than an hour to fully thicken, so maybe just keep an eye on it while it's going so it doesn't burn. I will def be making this often...it's super easy and super good~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
So glad I gave this a whirl. I cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup and it is still sweet. Since my bacon wasn't that smokey, I also added a bit of liquid smoke. As it was cooking down, I drizzled some over grilled zucchini and "Oh MY!" I think I will add some chili powder next time just for my taste and cut back the sugar a little more so it is a little more savory. Thanks for posting the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
YUM YUM YUM! After I saw this recipe this morning, I rushed to the nearest Wal-Mart (30 miles) and got my ingredients. After dinner, I whipped it up and we did the taste test. My husband and brother-in-law loved it, as did I. The smell at first was a little odd to me, as I'm pregnant, but once it started really cooking down, I found myself tasting it and loving every different stage more and more. I look forward to making more this sunday for my husband to take to the teacher's lounge on monday. I am sure we will get more great reviews then. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniSulli
Living In: Woodson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I happened to stumble upon this recipe recommended on the Buzz. Perfect timing, as I had some late tomatoes in my garden to use up before the frost did them in. I only had regular bacon, so I decided to add a bit of cumin to lend some smoky flavor. This is amazing- absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Me and my oldest son were bored this evening so we decided to give this recipe a shot. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so we used canned petite diced so we cut the recipe in half in case it didn't work with the canned variety. It did! We loved loved this its so good! We made bagel chips to eat with it very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is awesome. My friends gobbled it up. I served as a topping for fried green tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
We had an a bunch of cherry tomatoes from the garden and I needed a new recipe to use them up. Found this, tried it, LOVE it! My husband and daughter were a little nervous because it's called a "jam" but thought it was delicious. Made it exactly as the recipe except reduced the bacon to 3 strips (that's what I had on hand). I would reduce the sugar a bit because of the sweeter tomatoes and would up the amount of bacon, but I will absolutely make this again. And again. Try it on toasted french bread with a smear of goat cheese topped with the jam. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious! I was looking for something to take to a party and stumbled upon this. it sounded so good, I made a double batch to make sure I'd have some leftover...and so glad I did because it was gone quickly at the party. I cut the salt back just a little (although I think it would have been fine at the suggested amount) and forgot to add the optional hot sauce. I simply served it with pieces of crusty bread and it was very yummy. The next day, I had some on a bagel with cream cheese and it was super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I am writing a review to confess my errors in making this recipe. I had only 1-1/2 lbs of tomatoes and 1/2 lb. of bacon, so I thought I'd be fine as many reviewers commented that they'd like more bacon. I reduced the amount of sugar to 2/3 cup and the cider vinegar to 2 Tbs, which was perfect, BUT I reduced the salt only slightly, and it is super salty :-( It still tastes "great," I can tell I just O.D.ed on the salt... Just a thought for those who want to add bacon to the recipe, CUT DOWN ON THE SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I am doing something I HATE when other people do, which is to review a recipe which I changed. But I think my input may be valuable so here I go. I mostly followed the recipe except: first I doubled it, with a pound of bacon, which turned out to be fortunate because everyone loved it. Since there are no nice fresh tomatoes to be had at this time of year, I used three 24 oz. cans of whole peeled tomatoes. I did NOT double the sugar, only used one cup. And finally, I whirled the whole shebang briefly in the food processor because I thought it would look nicer - there remained some unappealing-looking lumps of the fatty part of the bacon, even though I cooked it very well. My finished product, though slightly different from the original recipe, was a huge hit - simply served on crackers. But almost everyone felt that it was maybe just a tad too sweet (even at half the sugar). So I will definitely make it again but put less sugar (I'll try 3/4 cup with the double recipe) and I will also throw in a handful of oil cured sun-dried tomato to up the savory content. I think then it will be insanely good. (One final thought, you cook this for so long that I don't think I would ever bother starting with good fresh tomatoes - I'd rather use them for something where they stay closer to their natural state. It's so much easier to use canned and still tastes great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States