Tomato and Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Love this recipe...just reduced the sugar...I actually put this jam in ziplock bags and stored in the freezer..kept very well for months...thawed it and served it over softened cream cheese with bacon ritz crackers...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I am writing a review to confess my errors in making this recipe. I had only 1-1/2 lbs of tomatoes and 1/2 lb. of bacon, so I thought I'd be fine as many reviewers commented that they'd like more bacon. I reduced the amount of sugar to 2/3 cup and the cider vinegar to 2 Tbs, which was perfect, BUT I reduced the salt only slightly, and it is super salty :-( It still tastes "great," I can tell I just O.D.ed on the salt... Just a thought for those who want to add bacon to the recipe, CUT DOWN ON THE SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I am doing something I HATE when other people do, which is to review a recipe which I changed. But I think my input may be valuable so here I go. I mostly followed the recipe except: first I doubled it, with a pound of bacon, which turned out to be fortunate because everyone loved it. Since there are no nice fresh tomatoes to be had at this time of year, I used three 24 oz. cans of whole peeled tomatoes. I did NOT double the sugar, only used one cup. And finally, I whirled the whole shebang briefly in the food processor because I thought it would look nicer - there remained some unappealing-looking lumps of the fatty part of the bacon, even though I cooked it very well. My finished product, though slightly different from the original recipe, was a huge hit - simply served on crackers. But almost everyone felt that it was maybe just a tad too sweet (even at half the sugar). So I will definitely make it again but put less sugar (I'll try 3/4 cup with the double recipe) and I will also throw in a handful of oil cured sun-dried tomato to up the savory content. I think then it will be insanely good. (One final thought, you cook this for so long that I don't think I would ever bother starting with good fresh tomatoes - I'd rather use them for something where they stay closer to their natural state. It's so much easier to use canned and still tastes great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
LOVE this! I've made this several times with fresh tomatoes from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Great over a block of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
YU-MMY! I used a white onion (blanched in salt water to cut the acidity) because that's what I had on hand, and only added 3/4 c. of sugar like another reviewer suggested and it came out great. I will try using a bit less sugar next time. Good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JimCooks
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wow! Just wow! Such delicious depth of flavor and satisfaction. I went a little wild today at the farmers' market so needed some quick things to make with heirloom tomatoes. I made a half-recipe, reduced the sugar slightly (from the half Cup split), added about 1/2t of minced garlic and a shake or two of cayenne pepper. Now wish I'd doubled or tripled it! If nobody minds, I think I'll just eat it straight out of the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Took it to a higher level. I julienned Bok Choy (Chinese cabbage) with leeks and carrots and tossed them with soy sauce. Using Egg Roll wraps, I smeared the tomato & bacon jam, topped this with the veg and after rolling the wraps, deep fried the Egg Rolls. I seved them on bed of Boston lettuce with slightly warmed Oyster sauce. Oooh soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
We had an a bunch of cherry tomatoes from the garden and I needed a new recipe to use them up. Found this, tried it, LOVE it! My husband and daughter were a little nervous because it's called a "jam" but thought it was delicious. Made it exactly as the recipe except reduced the bacon to 3 strips (that's what I had on hand). I would reduce the sugar a bit because of the sweeter tomatoes and would up the amount of bacon, but I will absolutely make this again. And again. Try it on toasted french bread with a smear of goat cheese topped with the jam. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Yum!!! This was easy to make and YUMMY!!! I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup. It was just too sweet the first time. I am HOOKED on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Falls City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Humphrey, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States