Tomato and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe for dinner or an appetizer. I added 1 clove of minced garlic, and then topped with crumbled feta cheese. Do not refrigerate tomato or avocado, best if they are at room temperature. Dressing can be chilled. I am very lucky to live in So. Cal and am able to get fresh hass avocado's and tomato's from the local farmer's market for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
What a simple, healthy and delicious lunch this was. To get the most flavor, never put your tomatoes in the frig., or your avocados for that matter. I salted my tomatoes lightly after slicing and I halved the dressing. I still had extra dressing but it will be wonderful on a salad today so I saved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was great with a few changes. I added a thinly sliced onion. I did not have dijon mustard, so I added 1/2 tsp of ground mustard and 2 TBSP of white wine. I let it sit for about 30 minutes. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeller311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Yum! But way too much dressing for the amount of avocado & tomatoes. I used only 1/4 c balsamic vinegar, 1 TBSP olive oil and 1 tsp dijon vinegar. Lots of freshly ground pepper as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Easy attractive and tasty. A really nice starter to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickyt51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Excellent salad, especially when the tomatoes are super ripe! Loved the dressing for this salad, too. I followed my good friend, Linda McLean's, suggestion and added fresh basil to the dish too. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Very quick and easy to make! Tasted delicious. I added a teaspoon of cream to add to the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This made a really nice lunch just for me today. I cut back on the vinegar a bit and added more seasonings and some fresh basil. Refreshing and delish. Thanks Aussiebear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I honestly didn't care for the dressing, because I thought it was to much vinegar. My husband hates all vinegar, and he tried it but didn't like it. I loved the combo of the veggies, however, and I'll make this again, maybe next time using olive oil or garlic oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Thank you very much for such a great way to serve avocado. Four and a half stars for this. I cut the avocado in half and placed it, cut side up, in the middle of the circle of tomato slices, drizzled Kraft Zesty Italian dressing lightly over all and ground fresh black pepper over all to taste. My husband doesn't care for avocado; however, he liked this combination very much. I served with both a fork and spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States