Tomato and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I liked this appetizer a lot and I loved the dressing, BUT...after reading one review I did 1/2 balsamic vinegar and 1/2 red vinegar and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Muy delicioso! The recipe as is makes a lot of extra dressing...which I personally enjoyed bc it tastes just as amazing sopped on bread as it does over the tomato and avocado! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was good. I love avocado, and I love tomato, and the dressing compliments them well. However, it wasn't quite as flavorful as I had hoped. Also, I doubled the amount of avocado and tomato and kept the amount of dressing the same. Still way too much dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Just not very good ... the flavors didn't meld together as I hoped they would and it just tasted odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana B.ee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Easy, tasty, refreshing, & nice presentation. I didn't change anything and agree with some other posts: There's a bit too much of a balsamic vinegar in the dressing. (That's why I rated the recipe as 4 stars instead of 5.) Use a third to half less than directed. For nutrition's and presentation's sake, I served this on a bed of romaine. The recipe makes enough vinaigrette to dress the lettuce, too. We served this as a side/appetizer to a chicken enchilada casserole (found in Family Circle, not on this website - fantastic, btw!), and it was the perfect compliment to the heavy, spicy main dish. But I could see making this the main course at a lunch as well, an easy pack-n-go for work. Definitely worth a try: It will quickly become a go-to salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Since some reviewers said there was an overwhelming balsamic taste - and also because most vinagrettes have three parts oil to one part vinegar - I started by just mixing in half of the balsamic vinegar. That is how I left it because it was so good, way better than any store bought vinagrette and it couldn't be easier! I quartered the dressing for my half of an avocado and still had enough leftover to top a small salad. It was such good dressing however that if you eat salad, you may as well make the full amount just to have extra on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I'm surprised ppl actually need a recipe for this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This dressing is the best balsamic dressing i have ever had, the salad just needs red onion and it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is a good combo of flavors, but I definitely agree there is way too much dressing. I halved the dressing and there was still too much! I thought I'd be okay mixing it in a measuring cup so I'd be able to pour it easily and thus be able to limit the amount, but that didn't work so well for me. I accidently saturated my plate. I'll drizzle with a spoon next time and next time make 1/4 of the dressing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States