Tomato Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This has been a huge hit every time I have made it. I didn't change a thing unless being a little heavy handed with the cheese counts. LOL This is a must try! I have passed this on to many friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
After making this recipe as written (that is the 4 star rating) I now use the changes that Lala posted. She doesn't state how much fresh herbs she uses. I use about 8-10 fresh basil leaves, chiffonade and about 1 teaspoon of minced fresh oregano. I also use buffalo mozzarella. Because of family allergies, I also used fresh gluten free bread crumbs. IN ADDITION: I made this again last night but used smoked sea salt directly on the tomatoes and smoked paprika in the bread crumbs. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Delicious, and it works with crookneck squash too. I substituted mozzarella cheese for the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Very nice side dish, I used only 2 Roma tomatoes deseeded and drained quite a bit of liquid. I used a combination of cheeses using a yummy shredded fontina cheese, Parmesan and a bit of cheddar. There was a bit of excess liquid but did not affect the overall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
It's easy, and yummy. I didn't change a thing except I used dried onion flakes because I forgot to get fresh onions at the store. I served it with corn and a chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Sorry...just not my family's taste. Too mushy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The best casserole ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
lots of cheese! I used mozzarella which was great. it needed more seasoning. I will probably add onion powder, garlic powder and sazon as well as the other ingredients next time. I used all the dried basil it called for and also added about 1 TBS of chopped fresh basil. Next time I will use one layer in a 13x9 inch pan b/c there were way too many breadcrumbs to pile ontop in a 9x9 inch dish. I used one large zucchini and 4 plum tomatoes. Very good! my hubby even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Whaaat?! My kids (and husband) ate all their vegetables! Yup, it's that good. We had it as a main dish. For substitutions, I used lots of fresh basil, a few heirloom tomatoes, yellow squash along with the zucchini, and green onions because that is what I had on hand. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. Next time I make it, I'd like to use fresh oregano, as well. And I think I'll try mozzarella cheese as other reviewers suggested. Excellent way to use up summer squash and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by downtoearthcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Great spring/summer side dish. I sliced and drained tomatoes in the am, and I did add salt to the tomato layer when assemblying. Did not bother with the onion in the bread crumb mixture. Really good & always gets great reviews. Has anyone prepped this the day before? Wasn't sure if it would get too soggy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States