Tomato Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
YUM!! This turned out amazing!! I was trying to match Maggiano's Tomato Vodka sauce that they serve on their gnocchi, so I made the following changes. I added 3 tablespoons of jarred minced garlic with the onions, used italian diced tomatoes, doubled the red pepper flakes and finished it off with 1/3 cup chopped fresh basil. Served this over the "quick gnocchi" from this site. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IstyMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This was an awesome recipe. I didn't think it would go over too well with my husband who is absolutely sick of pasta, but he LOVED it! I added 1/4 cup more heavy cream and 1/8 cup more vodka because we like saucy pasta. In addition, I always make pasta with garlic, weather it calls for it or not, so I added one clove of minced garlic to this recipe, as well as doubled the parmesan cheese (you can never have too much cheese!). I am definately making this dish again. Thanks Denise for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I prepared this recipe for Christmas Day. It went over very well. The 2nd. time I made it though, I added the vodka once my onions were soft & found it better & not so strong. It's definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delicious! I sauteed some minced garlic along with the onion and used crushed tomatoes. I used 1/2 c. of vodka and added 1 Tbsp. of basil and 1 tsp. of oregano along with a couple of teaspoons of sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I put the parmesan right in the sauce - about 1/4 cup. It came out velvety smooth and was very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe is incredible, but a bit too rich. In order to tone it down a little, I use light cream instead of heavy whipping cream. Also, I like a vodka sauce that is heavier on the vodka, so I double up vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluemonday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I made this last night, and it has become our new favorite pasta sauce! We had it over Campanelli pasta (a tubular pasta). The only change I made was to add 1/2 teaspoon of the canned minced garlic (about 1 clove) when I added the onions. Next time I may mash the tomatoes a little bit or buy canned crushed tomatoes. Served it with garlic bread on the side. Thanks for an awesome recipe! *Edit* I found I like the consistancy the best when I use petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This is one of the most delicious pasta dishes ever! I made it for company and it couldn't have been a bigger hit. I added a clove of garlic to the recipe and garnished the plate with chopped fresh basil. It looked beautiful! Next time I might try adding shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I was expecting this to be like the local restaurants here in town, which I love! Well it was a disappointment. To me it was to sour tasting. It was not sweet enough or creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I thought this recipe was delicious. I didn't have the diced tomatoes on hand so I used the crushed. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I am very impressed by this simple, but delicious recipe for vodka sauce. I added slight changes like added the vodka when the oinons were just transparent and simmered the vodka and tomatoes (I used diced tomatoes with onion and garlic, but used a hand blender to chop them down). I added a little more heavy cream then recommended because we like a little more saucy pasta and some dried basil. The sauce is very good and I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States