Tomato Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was trying to find a vodka sauce where I could control the sodium a bit, so wanted to make my own - this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Fantastic Sauce!! Thank you. I do replace the heavy cream with a soy/olive oil mix to remove the heavy dairy/ fat. It's the only thins I change, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The taste was very good, but I found the sauce didn't thicken as the recipe stated it would because I had to add cornstarch to help with the process. Would definitely make it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I had this over gnocchi and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I'd rate the recipe as-is 3 stars, but with a few additions, I'd bump it up to 4 stars. I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic to the onions, and later some garlic powder, but it still could have used more (I love garlic). I used crushed tomatoes as some had recommended for a nice consistency. Once all the ingredients were added, the sauce seemed a bit tart/sour, so I added some sugar to sweeten it up and also some fresh grated parmesan cheese directly to the sauce to taste. The crushed red peppers added a nice kick. I'd probably make again, using the recipe as a base to start off with, and keep on experimenting with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was an easy and great recipe. I confess I made a few changes. I added a small can of tomato sauce. Let it simmer until almost all liquid was absorbed. I added about 1/2 tsp. of Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp. of Herbs de Provence. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I was expecting this to be like the local restaurants here in town, which I love! Well it was a disappointment. To me it was to sour tasting. It was not sweet enough or creamy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
YUM!! This turned out amazing!! I was trying to match Maggiano's Tomato Vodka sauce that they serve on their gnocchi, so I made the following changes. I added 3 tablespoons of jarred minced garlic with the onions, used italian diced tomatoes, doubled the red pepper flakes and finished it off with 1/3 cup chopped fresh basil. Served this over the "quick gnocchi" from this site. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IstyMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This recipe was soooo good! It took so little time to make too! I am definitely making this again....may add some mushrooms or chicken to it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very Good! Easy to make. The only thing I did differently was I added 4 cloves of garlic because I love it and didn't use crushed red pepper because I forgot to buy some. My friend was hesitant to try because she hates vodka, but she loved it, and couldn't stop talking about how good it is. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States