Tomato Vodka Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Excellent sauce recipe. I used two cloves of garlic with the onions (added a bit after), crushed tomatoes, half-and-half instead of cream (might even try fat-free half-and-half next time), and about 1/2 c of vodka. I also finished the sauce with fresh basil. Served over homemade gnocchi, and it was really tasty. A tip for those interested (I did some research into this): this recipe is definitely correct about when to add the vodka. Cooking instinct might say use it to deglaze after the onion-cooking phase, but the flavor really gets lost when added this early, seeing as vodka doesn't have a particularly potent taste. The alcohol still cooks off when added after the tomatoes, but you retain a slight bitterness, which works nicely with the dairy element in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great if you add suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Drop the vodka, add garlic to onion, after cream added, put in blender. Comes out consistent in color and taste, just like your local restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have made this many times since I have found it. I have followed other's suggestions about adding the vodka after the onions and garlic, and before the tomatoes. I found I liked the taste of the final product better this way. Tonight, when I made this recipe, I added a chopped red bell pepper. This added a very nice sweetness to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Wow. This sauce is MARVELOUS! I actually used my own homemade tomato sauce, which I had canned in the summer, which took away most of the simmering & thickening time. I used this sauce to go with the "Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli" recipe also found on this site, and it was a perfect combination. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Wonderful sauce the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Fuzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Very good and very easy. I added a little extra vodka and red pepper and also some uncooked shrimp at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sony321
Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I'm not thoroughly convinced that Vodka sauce is for me but I'm not docking this recipe because of that. I had authentic Italian Vodka Sauce in NYC's Little Italy not too long ago and wasn't overwhelmed with it there either but I needed something quick for lunch and wanted pasta so I thought I'd give it a whirl. It was good and edible and satisfied my pasta craving. I did add some basil flakes and a little garlic salt. For a quick meal, it's not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Delicious. I added spicy Italian sausage and some tomato paste, as well, and it added to the rich flavor. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is Classic Vodka sauce!! Couldn't be better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States