Tomato Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Looking for a lighter alternative to an oil-based vinaigrette so I tried the recipe as posted and it was a good 4 stars - if not a little bland, but I tweaked it up for the 2nd batch...2nd time around I used fresh thyme and basil (fresh herbs are not as potent as dried, so I doubled the amount of herbs). I also used Dijon instead of ground mustard and punched it up with some salt and pepper and 2 garlic cloves. Whirred it all up in the blender and DELISH!!! Omit the vinegar and this could be poured over pasta! In response to other posters stating this was a bit bitter...try removing the tomato seeds before blending. That may take care of the bitterness issue. You can also try a pinch of sugar. Thanks recipe poster. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
low cal, but needed a little more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I had an abundance of tomatoes from my garden to use, so my search for a recipe led me here. This recipe reminded me of a salad dressing I used to adore, so of course they quit making it (UGH)...so I made this recipe exactly, but with the following additions- I added a clove of garlic because everyone knows garlic makes most things better, and I added some bacon bits because the discontinued dressing I loved had them, plus everyone knows bacon makes everything better. Then I tossed this in a Ziplock bag with some boneless, skinless chicken breasts, let them marinate overnight and most of the day, and grilled them up. Very, very fresh and tasty. A lovely, flavorful healthy meal. Thanks for sharing the recipe Jen! I will surely make this again, as both a marinade and a salad dressing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Yum! This is creamy and tastes great. Refreshing change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I used red wine vinegar, 1 whole tomato, basil, ground mustard, dill, 1/8 tsp steak seasoning, salt and pepper to taste, and 1 clove of garlic. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
We're about to have this with dinner. I doubled it and added oil but I'm not too impressed. It's a little bitter and I'm wondering which ingredient may have made that happen since my basil and tomatoes are fresh from my garden...maybe my dried mustard is bitter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
i added garlic and used red wine vinegar. really fresh tasting. i used this in a mixed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This is a good starting point, but there's room for improvement. I really like the idea because it has the potential to be a flavorful yet healthy salad dressing (which can be hard to find). I would adjust the amount of thyme next time because I thought it was a bit overwhelming. I'd play with the other spices too - maybe try fresh herbs and add oregano or parsley, and also salt, pepper, garlic, and onion. I might play around with the vinegar too - maybe try balsamic. Sun dried tomatoes might be a good touch too. The options are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I made a double batch. This is very good. I am always on the lookout for healthy dressings and vinaigrettes. This qualifies! I used a large tomato from my wife's garden and had to make a special trip to the store to get white wine vinegar, which is fine. I was out of it anyway. It was great warm. I can't wait for it to cool and marinate for a couple of days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I have been searching for a good tomato vinaigrette! this was simple to make and the spices were just enough, the vinager was not overwhelming! Perfect for my pasta salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

"Roasted Tomato" and Balsamic Vinaigrette

See Chef John make a super-simple vinaigrette with complex flavors.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States