Tomato Spinach and Bean Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I know many people were swayed away from this recipe due to the nutritional facts, and at first I was too, because I'm a major health nut. But I altered the recipe greatly to suit my needs, and voila! It was amazing. As someone mentioned earlier, the sour cream and avocado, as well as the cooking oil, make up 1/3 of those calories...as much as I love mexican, I decided to make this more of a dish rather than a taco, to thus eliminate the tortillas as well. Turns out that I don't have any spinach in my house--I thought I did when I printed out the recipe...and looking at earlier reviews, I saw some people say it was a little blah. So I sauted the garlic and onion in minimal/close to no oil, then followed the next part of the recipe. When adding spices, however, I added a few red pepper flakes, three slices of ginger minced very small, and a touch of hot sauce (I used a bit of habanero sauce, but used minimally it's not fatal)...then, after it simmered, instead of spinach I shredded a bit of the green part of romaine lettuce very thinly--it softens, adds color to the meal, and still tastes good. I ate it from a small bowl, and it was delicious. Near the end of the cooking stage, the whole house smelled delicious, and even my younger brother loved it...he's not a major bean eater like I am. What a success! Experimentation is the answer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This was really good and easy to make. It is also really nice to look at, as it has deep rich colors. I used fresh spinach instead of frozen and that added some time to the prep time, chopping and washing it. Nice, subtle flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I thought this was horrible. Maybe it was because I substituted the kidney beans for chickpeas. All I really cared about when I started eating it was the sour cream and salsa. I don't even think I can finish it. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
This was ok, but something just wasn't doing it for. The flavors did seem to go together real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
No one liked this at all. It needed some other kind of flavor. I added a little grated cheddar cheese, but other than that, stuck right to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
5 stars, 5 stars, 5 stars!!! This has to be one of my husband's and my favorite recipes from this website!! We omitted the avocado and added a bit of cheese and sour cream to the burritos. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This is a great weekday, family friendly recipe...not "award-winning" but quick and simple to make...perfect for last-minute b/c no meat to defrost, yet still enought protein. Everyone loved it...added grated cheese and cilantro...served with rice. Mom's Happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was just o.k., I wouldn't make again. It was kind of bland, maybe some more spices or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I am giving 4 stars as an assumption for how I will feel about it when I make it. I am mainly replying to the poster who asked about reducing fat and calories on this. Most of the fat is coming from the nutritional calculator splitting one ripe avocao into 4 servings, plus the 4 T sour cream and the 2 T oil. I always use ff sour cream, and I hate avocado, so cutting the oil back makes this almost fat free for me (assmuing you use fat free tortillas). Since there's about 28 grams of fat by the nutritional calculator(that contribute 250+ calories), taking out the avocado and using FF sc and cutting back the oil helps tremendously in making this a good light entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I didn't make the recipe because it has so much fat and calories. It sounds delicious. I will try it but I will cut out the fat. Any suggestions for a lighter version?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States