Tomato Spinach and Bean Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This is awesome! I did make a few modifications. I used black beans instead of kidney beans, added some chopped black olives, added a couple of tablespoons of corn meal as a thickener, decreased the chili powder by about a third to make it more kid friendly, and served it in some of those specialty tomato basil burritos, with some cheddar, sour cream, and taco bell mild taco sauce. TERRIFIC!!!!! Thanks for a great recipe, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This is a great weekday, family friendly recipe...not "award-winning" but quick and simple to make...perfect for last-minute b/c no meat to defrost, yet still enought protein. Everyone loved it...added grated cheese and cilantro...served with rice. Mom's Happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I know many people were swayed away from this recipe due to the nutritional facts, and at first I was too, because I'm a major health nut. But I altered the recipe greatly to suit my needs, and voila! It was amazing. As someone mentioned earlier, the sour cream and avocado, as well as the cooking oil, make up 1/3 of those calories...as much as I love mexican, I decided to make this more of a dish rather than a taco, to thus eliminate the tortillas as well. Turns out that I don't have any spinach in my house--I thought I did when I printed out the recipe...and looking at earlier reviews, I saw some people say it was a little blah. So I sauted the garlic and onion in minimal/close to no oil, then followed the next part of the recipe. When adding spices, however, I added a few red pepper flakes, three slices of ginger minced very small, and a touch of hot sauce (I used a bit of habanero sauce, but used minimally it's not fatal)...then, after it simmered, instead of spinach I shredded a bit of the green part of romaine lettuce very thinly--it softens, adds color to the meal, and still tastes good. I ate it from a small bowl, and it was delicious. Near the end of the cooking stage, the whole house smelled delicious, and even my younger brother loved it...he's not a major bean eater like I am. What a success! Experimentation is the answer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is SO YUMMY. I also changed mine a bit and used fresh spinach, about 8 oz, and black beans. This would also be good with corn. This is also so versatile. I made it for dinner the other night and served it on rice for my young son, put it in a tortilla for my husband, and served it on top of greens, crushed tortilla chips, salsa and sour cream for myself. This is also a great chip dip with salsa and sour cream (and guac if you have it). I had that for dinner as leftovers a few nights later. Delicious, economical, and versatile! Thanks Lisa! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
The whole family loved this recipe! I substituted the black beans for kidney as suggested. It was an enjoyable and fairly simple recipe to make. Then I served the burrito mixture in a pot, and put out all the toppings so people could customize their own burritos. I made a little extra and reheated for lunches throughout the week. I'll be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
5 stars, 5 stars, 5 stars!!! This has to be one of my husband's and my favorite recipes from this website!! We omitted the avocado and added a bit of cheese and sour cream to the burritos. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
My wife and I really liked this recipe and have made it several times but have made a few changes. Substituted black beans and found that using a fresh deli-style salsa (found in the refrigeration section of the grocery store) really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
Very delicous but also very healthy. I substitued canned black beans for kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This was really good. I sprinkled the tortillas with cilantro leaves before filling and then added cheddar cheese on top before rolling up (although this adds more calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I actually found this to be quite tasty! I added a can of green chiles, used black beans in place of kidney beans and used fresh spinach. The rest of the recipe remained unchanged and it was great! I will definitely make this again. mmmm mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States