Tomato Spinach and Bean Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
Very delicous but also very healthy. I substitued canned black beans for kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This is awesome! I did make a few modifications. I used black beans instead of kidney beans, added some chopped black olives, added a couple of tablespoons of corn meal as a thickener, decreased the chili powder by about a third to make it more kid friendly, and served it in some of those specialty tomato basil burritos, with some cheddar, sour cream, and taco bell mild taco sauce. TERRIFIC!!!!! Thanks for a great recipe, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
The whole family loved this recipe! I substituted the black beans for kidney as suggested. It was an enjoyable and fairly simple recipe to make. Then I served the burrito mixture in a pot, and put out all the toppings so people could customize their own burritos. I made a little extra and reheated for lunches throughout the week. I'll be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This was really good. I sprinkled the tortillas with cilantro leaves before filling and then added cheddar cheese on top before rolling up (although this adds more calories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I didn't make the recipe because it has so much fat and calories. It sounds delicious. I will try it but I will cut out the fat. Any suggestions for a lighter version?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I am giving 4 stars as an assumption for how I will feel about it when I make it. I am mainly replying to the poster who asked about reducing fat and calories on this. Most of the fat is coming from the nutritional calculator splitting one ripe avocao into 4 servings, plus the 4 T sour cream and the 2 T oil. I always use ff sour cream, and I hate avocado, so cutting the oil back makes this almost fat free for me (assmuing you use fat free tortillas). Since there's about 28 grams of fat by the nutritional calculator(that contribute 250+ calories), taking out the avocado and using FF sc and cutting back the oil helps tremendously in making this a good light entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was just o.k., I wouldn't make again. It was kind of bland, maybe some more spices or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This is a great weekday, family friendly recipe...not "award-winning" but quick and simple to make...perfect for last-minute b/c no meat to defrost, yet still enought protein. Everyone loved it...added grated cheese and cilantro...served with rice. Mom's Happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
5 stars, 5 stars, 5 stars!!! This has to be one of my husband's and my favorite recipes from this website!! We omitted the avocado and added a bit of cheese and sour cream to the burritos. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
No one liked this at all. It needed some other kind of flavor. I added a little grated cheddar cheese, but other than that, stuck right to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States