Tomato Spinach and Bean Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe except that I used black beans. Thought it was bland and missing something...it was OK, but not a recipe I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Great tasting and filling. I left out the sour cream, and ended up mixing my own spices since I was certain I had chili powder at home but didn't. Leftovers were great for lunch the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Yum. Subbed black beans for kidney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
There are many good things about this recipe: the ingredients are items you might already have at home (as I did), it is simple and quick, and--most importantly--it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I love this recipe and I make it quite often. It is full of fiber and protein and the tomatoes and spinach add some nutrients. I do add ground beef or turkey to this to make it a little heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This just seemed "flat" to me, something is missing. I will try it again with a jalapeno and fresh cilantro, but as is it is bland despite the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very good. I added in a can of black beans + some left over kidney beans (about half a cup). I only added in two cups of tomatoes, and half a bag of fresh baby spinach chopped (that's all I had). I also added garlic powder, dried cilantro, paprika, a good amount of salt and black pepper to season. I didn't have any salsa so I added in some chopped tomato to each burrito along with cheese. Served sour cream and guacamole on the side. Btw, I would also suggest adding mexican rice to these burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I tried this recipe because I had fresh spinach to use... I used black beans because that's what I had in the pantry and didn't have fresh tomatoes so substituted a 14.5 oz can petite diced tomatoes (drained), an 8 oz. can tomato sauce, and omitted the water. Also added quite a few good shakes of hot pepper sauce and coriander. I ate the bean mixture on rice and with the addition of sour cream and salsa it was quite tasty. I made this recipe a second time using chipotle powder - the results were definitely not bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Very good meatless option. Burritos will be very plump, so be sure to use LARGE tortillas. I will omit the water next time - there is more than enough liquid. I also cut the chili powder in half and added 1 tablespoon taco seasoning too. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
It was okay, but not fabulous. Not sure what's missing (maybe cheese), but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States