Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Great recipe, my 4 year old daughter loved it. I did modify it just a little...I used 3 hand fulls of spinach, 1 can of italian diced tomatos and 1 can of regular diced tomatos (blended in the blender), spices and lots of parmesan cheese (2 hand fulls, maybe). I completly forgot the milk. Great taste and flavor...froze left overs. WILL make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I'm a complete beginner and this soup turned out really well. I followed the directions (for the most part) but I'm thinking about added the milk at the end next time as some of the reviewers recommended because I did have a bit of curdling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was soooo good! I added some bruchetta to it. So creamy, really, really, good and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Wow amazing, i made this last night, enough for eight people and Ive frozen it in individual portions, this will be really useful after a long day at work and i want something quick and easy for the evening meal. Mine also curdled a bit, my fault for not following earlier advice on this site. But by the time i stick blended it, it was fine. Not the same colour as the pic but this could be due to the spinach and blending it all together. Not that any of that matters, lovely healthy soup.x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jooles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgwater, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Yummy! I made the soup using fresh tomato sauce I had made from our garden (which had bits of carrots and celery in it already). I sauteed the onions and garlic (I doubled the garlic) and then pureed the whole thing as smoothly as I could get it. I didn't have fresh spinach so I used frozen spinach (drained really well). I made a white pizza with a little of the leftover spinach and used the soup as a dipper. It was absolutely fantastic! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was a great base recipe to work off of. I went heavy on the Spinach (to up the nutrition for my 3 kids 3yrs and under), doubled/tripled the garlic, used Italian Seas since I didn't have fresh basil, browned the onions in butter then added garlic, added 1/2 cup Chicken Broth and 1/2 cup parmesan (we love cheese here!), and then crushed red pepper for my husband and I. I used the immersion blender before adding the Spinach since my kids can't eat chunky soup (or drink as it is through their straws!). Served it with seasoned croutons on top and grilled cheese to dip. Yummy! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Wonderful soup. I added the milk at the end as someone suggested and didn't have any problems. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Not really what I was expecting. tasted more like a tomato sauce than tomato Basil soup with spinach. Definatly wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I love this soup. I too put it in the blender and that worked well. I made it exactly like the recipe said and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe took me by surprise. I have been cooking for over 60 years and I made this and coudn't stop eating it. It was wonderful. A suggestion for others is to use a hand blender toget reid of the chunks of onion, but I liked the chuncks. The hand blender is easy to use and does a good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States