Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is a wonderful soup that even my 4 1/2 year old loved. However, I doubled the spinach and blended it all in my food processor.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I was dissappointed in this soup as I LOVE good tomato basil soup. But it was like eating spaghetti sauce straight??? I think it was missing something. I even tried adding a little sherry but still not right? It may need CREAM???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This soup was too sweet for my family's taste. So I added ground beef and boiled it for a bit and made a really good pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia B
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I didn't have tom puree, so I used crushed toms and half a can of tom paste. Did onions, added toms, then pureed all of it, put in put and added basil, spinach, milk and 1/2 c of water. Turned out wonderful. Great recipe to build on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Taste was ok but it was not as smooth of a soup as I was looking for. I did follow the advice of others and cooked spinach longer and added the milk last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ville Platte, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe. Easy to make, quick and delicious. I have made it exactly as described, also made it with some diced tomatoes added. Delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Healthy and easy to make. My kids thought it tasted like spaghetti sauce and wanted it with noodles. I put the milk in after boiling as suggested by other reviewers, I also cut back the salt to a pinch since there was salt in the canned tomatoes. I used canned diced tomatoes since that is what I had on hand and put them in the blender before cooking. I am looking forward to cooking this with fresh tomatoes in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
It was a good simple soup. Very easy and tastes just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This soup is good. It’s snowing here today and my kids enjoyed this with a grilled cheese sandwich after playing outside. They don’t care for spinach but they had no problem eating it in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was ok...I made it as directed, maybe added a little extra spinach. I agree with another reviewer that it kind of tastes like pasta sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States