Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
You have to add milk last... never boil any cream in a soup like this. That is why it has curdled on some people. After everything has cooked down...onions, spinach, spices then add milk and stir in off heat. Not sure how it keeps in fridge for a month with the milk as an ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This soup was fantastic! I loved it. I used a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach and used the mandoline to finely chop the onion. Next time I will use a little less sugar, it was a little sweet. But superb! I also baked a refrigerated pizza crust and melted 1 cup mozz cheese on top and sliced into "dippers." PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Wonderful soup! Definitely saute the onions until soft and puree the soup before adding the chopped spinach. Also note that the fresh spinach takes longer than stated to properly wilt. Our entire family (even the finicky 11 year old) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Great flavor, not so hot in the looks department--this was mostly my fault, just letting others know what not to do! I didn't have tomato puree, just petite diced; I was going to puree it myself in the food processor, but decided since the onions were in big chunks and I like chunky tomato soup, I would try it as is. So I dumped in the big can of diced tomatoes, and then noticed that the milk was a little curdled. I followed the recipe exactly, so this was a little disappointing. After adding the spinach and basil with the curdled milk it looked really nasty, and I got the bright idea to throw it all in the blender. It came out looking like baby poo :) I had friends over, and they all said the flavor was great, I just don't recommend blending the soup all together. Next time I will just deal with the milk chunks :) Wonderful flavor so thanks for the recipe, I'm going to keep trying on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This is a really delicious recipe! Per other reviewers suggestions, I diced the onions finely and sauteed them for a few more minutes. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. It came out sooo yummy. I topped each bowl with freshly grated parmesan and served it with toasted sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
Absolutely the best! This is one of the best soups I have tasted with out all of the calories and fat. I am taking the recipe to my Weight Watchers meeting tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I've never had homemade tomato soup, but I'd have to say, this was excellent, though I made some modifications. I used a 12oz can of tomatoe paste, oregano instead of basil (because I was out) and I added a cup of chicken broth to thin it out a bit. It turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This IS a very versatile recipe. I simmered the onion and garlic in water, left out the sugar and replaced the milk with rice milk and my family (which includes 5 kids) still loved it. Even my picky son who was so upset that I put spinach in his tomatoe soup. I did ladle out about half the soup into a blender to puree. It gave it a smoother texture overall. We served it w/ croutons on top and it was delish' !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great soup and very easy. As recommended, I finely chopped the onions using my food processor. When sautéing the onions and garlic I added red pepper flakes to add a bit of a kick. Also, when I added the last ingredients I added about a cup of chicken broth to thin it out a bit. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This recipie wasn't as quick as the directions stated, but still didn't take a long time to cook. The recipie was a hit....except next time I will chop the onion into smaller pieces or cook them longer, they ended up as chunks in the soup. Overall a good spin on tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States