Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was very disappointing. Something just wasn't right. It tasted like I was eating a sauce with milk added into it. Don't know what I did wrong, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darcybd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
As Is: has too much onion overpowering the tomato. To adjust to my taste/make it a personal five stars (it will be sticking around with a couple changes) I cut back to half an onion. To make the texture smoother I put everything except the spinach in the blender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is great! I use less onion and more garlic for our personal taste. I also use an immersion blender to deal with any chunks and the curdled milk, (though will try adding milk last per another reviewer this time.) It is husband approved and he requests it frequently. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Only change I made was to delete the sugar and it was totally awesome. The sugar probably wouldn't make a lot of difference...I just don't like sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Delicious! I pureed my own tomatoes by first boiling them and then plunging them in an icewater bath to remove the skins, then coring, and putting in the food processor. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I just made this soup today. It was very easy and a tasty tomato soup. My husband likes Tomato soup although I have never really been fond of it myself. The only comment I would like to make is that it was not as creamy as I thought it would be and that may be because I was using 2% milk. I think the next time I will try half and half. We are going to have it again tomorrow with Challa bread. Thanks for the experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Great recipe, my 4 year old daughter loved it. I did modify it just a little...I used 3 hand fulls of spinach, 1 can of italian diced tomatos and 1 can of regular diced tomatos (blended in the blender), spices and lots of parmesan cheese (2 hand fulls, maybe). I completly forgot the milk. Great taste and flavor...froze left overs. WILL make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I'm a complete beginner and this soup turned out really well. I followed the directions (for the most part) but I'm thinking about added the milk at the end next time as some of the reviewers recommended because I did have a bit of curdling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was soooo good! I added some bruchetta to it. So creamy, really, really, good and easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Wow amazing, i made this last night, enough for eight people and Ive frozen it in individual portions, this will be really useful after a long day at work and i want something quick and easy for the evening meal. Mine also curdled a bit, my fault for not following earlier advice on this site. But by the time i stick blended it, it was fine. Not the same colour as the pic but this could be due to the spinach and blending it all together. Not that any of that matters, lovely healthy soup.x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jooles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgwater, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States