Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good recipe. Wife and I would only change one thing, and that would be to cut back on the onion (about half), and cook them longer before adding the other ingredients. I'm a soup lover, and this is something we will make more often! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Probably not for everyone but we loved this as more healthy and complete version of tomato soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I used dried basil instead of fresh because my basil plant had lost it's leaves for the winter. It just tasted like spaghetti sauce (good spaghetti sauce). Perhaps it would have been better with fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Delicious! I added sour cream and followed other's advice to add milk after boiling the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe reminds me of a recipe I used to make for my children. I would saute celery and carrots with the onions, add the tomato and then pureed all of this until smooth. I love this new recipe because it has spinach! I used frozen spinach that I thawed and pressed the water out of. I added cayenne and less sugar as well as chicken stock instead of milk. I served with bacon, cheddar cheese and parmesan cheese for anyone who wanted those added. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was really good. I've tried making homemade tomato soup recently and didn't like the other recipes. This one is easy and tastes great with a nice texture. The fresh basil is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very good taste and couldn't be easier! I followed advice of another reviewer and added the milk at the end. Then I put it in the blender to make it look more appealing. Served it with a warm crusty sourdough baguette -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe, although I did substitute the tomato puree with tomatoe soup. and I didnt add any extra sugar since the soup already had high fructose corn syrup in it. It was wonderful though! although my boyfriend said it was a bit two sweet, but I can't blame the recipe for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
this tomato-basil soup is the best i have ever, ever had! i will recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was a complete hit! My boyfriend, my roommate and I all loved it. I did add a some chicken broth and I used soy milk and it was fantastic! We topped it with feta cheese. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States