Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This soup is super easy and seriously amazing. I made it two days ago and today am making another batch, this time doubling the recipe...that good! I read some reviews and decided to add a cup of chicken stock to thin it out. Also if you buy crushed tomatoes with basil already in it, saves you from having to buy the real stuff. SO SO GOOD! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crpeterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This soup is fantastic! I have made it many times, including for some of my friends who are VERY good cooks, and they all asked for the recipe. I always double it and add extra spinach. Then I use a hand blender to puree as much as possible. I added a cup of whipping cream this last time (to a triple batch), and it was ohhh so yummy. I usually don't add any extra fat, except for the milk, and it is a healthy, delicious soup! Never had trouble with curdling milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Foxfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is the best tomato soup recipe I have found on here so far. I used 2% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Awesome and easy. I actually cut the milk back to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 cup of chicken broth to butter/garlic/onion and let it cook down a bit. VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Sorry, didn't like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Yum, this was good! I halved the recipe, used a red onion, a 14 oz can of Italian flavored Diced tomatoes and way more garlic. I left out the sugar. Easy, peasy lunch that was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
So good!! and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cashews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used a package of frozen spinach, dried basil, and a can of crushed tomato since I didn't know when I would get to make it and I didn't want the ingredients to go bad before I did, and it was so good! I'm sure it would be amazing if all fresh ingredients were used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was pretty good. The spinach is a must in it! I added a good handful of frozen chopped spinach at the end and it was just right. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Good, but I added a lot of crushed red peppers to add flavor. I also added the milk last to help avoid curdling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States