Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
You have to add milk last... never boil any cream in a soup like this. That is why it has curdled on some people. After everything has cooked down...onions, spinach, spices then add milk and stir in off heat. Not sure how it keeps in fridge for a month with the milk as an ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Just made this and it was very nice. Made as noted except without spinach as I did not have any handy. I did not have puree in the pantry so I used a 29 oz can of Hunt's Organic tomato sauce. I also used FF milk and did not find the sauce think at all. I served with a sprinkle of parm and homemade sundried tomato rosmary bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great soup and very easy. As recommended, I finely chopped the onions using my food processor. When sautéing the onions and garlic I added red pepper flakes to add a bit of a kick. Also, when I added the last ingredients I added about a cup of chicken broth to thin it out a bit. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Probably one of the best soups I've ever made. I went heavy handed on the garlic, basil and spinach - it was the right choice. This is delicious served with crustini and melted fresh mozzarella. I do not feel it is necessary to puree anything - I like it sort of rustic and chunky. Also, I've only had this NOT separate a bit on me once. It doesn't seem to make a difference if you add the milk and then bring to a boil, or wait and add the milk after the heat is off. Either way, it doesn't change the flavor, it just doesn't look quite as pretty. AWESOME RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Delicious. However, as other users noted, it was missing a little 'kick.' I added some Frank's Hot Sauce and that did the trick! Took this soup from a 4 star to a 5!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I scaled by half and used (3) fresh tomatoes so I added about 1 T of double tomato paste. I used up 1/4 cup whipping cream for part of the milk, won't be doing that again. Might even sub the milk for some veggie broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
this soup was delicious. It was my first time making a spinach soup and it turned out great!!! I will make it again for sure!! I used tomato sauce and Heavy Whipping Cream instead and dried basil leaves from the bottle. It was really good!! Served with garlic butter mini toasts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
So good!!! My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I did not care for this but my husband thought it was OK. The onion flavor ruined it for me I think even though it was not in big chunks. Probably won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Great flavor, not so hot in the looks department--this was mostly my fault, just letting others know what not to do! I didn't have tomato puree, just petite diced; I was going to puree it myself in the food processor, but decided since the onions were in big chunks and I like chunky tomato soup, I would try it as is. So I dumped in the big can of diced tomatoes, and then noticed that the milk was a little curdled. I followed the recipe exactly, so this was a little disappointing. After adding the spinach and basil with the curdled milk it looked really nasty, and I got the bright idea to throw it all in the blender. It came out looking like baby poo :) I had friends over, and they all said the flavor was great, I just don't recommend blending the soup all together. Next time I will just deal with the milk chunks :) Wonderful flavor so thanks for the recipe, I'm going to keep trying on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States