Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I did not add spinach, and I replaced the basil with two tablespoons of lovage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I've made it 4 times. This last time enough for 12. I used 28ozs. of diced petite tomatoes since I was short on the tomato puree. I also took the time to purée it in my blender. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Substitute sugar with finely chopped carrots cooked along with the onions. The cream is added later than what the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I used fresh tomatoes because I had them and they needed to be used. I used skim milk, so I added 1/3 cup heavy cream at the very end. This was so delicious, my husband proclaimed it "magnificent!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this and loved it. My only modification was to replace the milk with equal parts of FF chicken broth...as good as I've had out !, definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make. However I did make a couple of changes as I am trying to stay away from processed foods as much as possible. I replaced whole milk with coconut milk and pureed 8 fresh tomatoes, simmering them for fourty minutes before adding the basil and spinach. An additional teaspoon of sugar was necessary. The end result was a very fresh, flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I loved this tomato soup. I didn't have tomato puree on hand but I had 5 fresh medium to small sized tomatoes on the vine. I deseeded and peeled the tomatoes and added it to the onion, garlic, carrot and celery which were coarsely chopped and sauteed. The tomatoes boiled down. Once they were cooked, I put it in a blender and pureed it all! I then poured it all back into the pot and added the milk. After the milk was stirred in, I reheated it one last time. I had no problems with clumping or curdling. It was so yummy.. and the best part of it was that I was guilt free. Since I used fresh tomatoes, the soup was fresh and healthy. I added the spinach and basil right at the end before serving with some cheesy wheat toast. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Favorite Tomato Soup Recipe Ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Easy and tasty! The spinach makes it taste so good! Plus I added mushrooms and chick peas and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
A tad on the bland side. Maybe next time, I might try adding a bit of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States